© Jan Bitter

This project to refurbish and retrofit a 1980s office block provided a rare opportunity to thoroughly recycle an existing building. In particular, this involved minimising overall energy consumption and improving levels of workplace comfort and environmental quality. The complete renewal of the façade was used as an opportunity to give a previously faceless building on the city ring road an elegant and unexpectedly dynamic presence. The solid spandrel panels were removed to allow full-height glazing, and the building’s overall form was modified to conceal the formerly projecting staircases and to create a new, dynamic entity.

The new building envelope offers state-of-the-art performance in terms of thermal insulation, solar control, noise reduction and daylighting as well as natural ventilation of the offices. A pair of naturally lit atria have been cut out of the existing structure, enabling natural cross ventilation of the building as a whole and providing new spaces for internal communication. Circulation and orientation have been considerably improved by relocating the main entrance, freeing space for a wide, ground-floor gallery around the internal courtyard. These measures have also created attractive, suitably generous reception areas.

Taking into account its reuse of the grey energy embedded in the existing fabric, the new building achieves an exemplary energy balance. Its dynamic façades create a colourful body that uses the principle of kinetic polychromy to revitalise banal urban space and encourage people to perceive the city as a sensual landscape.

© Rainer Viertlböck
© Jan Bitter
© Stefan Müller-Naumann
© Stefan Müller-Naumann

brief

  • General refurbishment and energy upgrade of a 1980s office building

client

  • Münchener Rückversicherungs-Gesellschaft Aktiengesellschaft in München

data

  • gross floor area: 49.900 m²
  • competition: 2009, 1st prize
  • 2011 — 2014

© Jan Bitter

Die Generalsanierung eines Verwaltungsgebäudes aus den 1980er-Jahren ergab die seltene Gelegenheit, ein Bestandsgebäude vollständig zu recyceln. Neben der energetischen Sanierung des Hauses wurde die Qualität der Arbeitsplätze drastisch verbessert. Die komplette Erneuerung der Fassade wurde genutzt, um ein bisher gesichtsloses Gebäude am Stadtring zu einem eleganten und überraschend lebendigen Gebäudekomplex umzugestalten. Nach Entfernung der massiven Fensterbrüstungen wurde die Außenhaut so modifiziert, dass die bisher dominierenden Treppenhäuser in eine neue, konkav geschwungene Gebäudekubatur integriert werden.

Die neue Hülle gewährleistet die aktuell relevante Wärmedämmung, Schall- und Sonnenschutz, Tagesbelichtung sowie die natürliche Belüftung der Büroräume. Im Inneren entstanden durch Einschnitte zwei tagesbelichtete Atrien, die Raum für interne Kommunikation bieten und zugleich die natürliche Querlüftung im gesamten Gebäude ermöglichen. Durch die Verlagerung des Haupteingangs an die Berliner Straße sowie die Einführung eines am Innenhof angelagerten Galeriegangs im Erdgeschoss wurden Erschließung und Orientierung erheblich verbessert und repräsentative Empfangsräume geschaffen.

Unter Berücksichtigung der Nutzbarmachung der grauen Energie des Altbaus entstand ein Haus mit vorbildlicher Energiebilanz. Als farbiges Volumen lädt es nach dem Prinzip der kinetischen Polychromie den profanen Stadtraum auf und unterstützt die Leseweise der Stadt als sinnliche Landschaft.

© Rainer Viertlböck
© Jan Bitter
© Stefan Müller-Naumann
© Stefan Müller-Naumann

Aufgabe

  • Energetische und gestalterische Generalsanierung eines Bürogebäudes der 1980er Jahre

Bauherr

  • Münchener Rückversicherungs-Gesellschaft Aktiengesellschaft in München

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 49.900 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2009, 1. Preis
  • 2011 — 2014