Built in the 1950s, Benjamin Franklin Village in north-eastern Mannheim is – with its 88 hectares and 220 buildings – one of the largest former residential areas of the US armed forces stationed in Europe. Since the beginning of its revitalization in 2015 the site, which is embedded in a spacious park, has undergone rapid change. By 2025, conversion and densification are to result in a district for around 9,000 people with a variety of uses ranging from work, care and training facilities to cultural, leisure and recreational facilities.

The construction site to be developed, measuring approx. 100 x 68 m, is part of the central Franklin Mitte district. The starting point of our project is the idea of a comprehensive target group of diversity and social mixing. One focus for Franklin Mitte will be on "Living for families". The heart and catalyst of a culture of solidarity and coexistence are the communal areas. The “extended living room” or neighbourhood forum, with its communal kitchen and common room, forms a focal point for community life in the neighbourhood. This is complemented by a children's playroom and a workroom.

The new buildings are planned in a wooden frame construction with hollow box ceilings on an axial grid of 62.5 cm. In this way, a high degree of floor plan variability is easily achieved. The very different requirements resulting from the mix of uses can thus be implemented economically and with a high sustainability aspiration.

brief

  • Residential quarter in timber with social common areas

client

  • Innovatio GbR
  • Profund Bauträger und Projektentwicklung GmbH

data

  • gross floor area: 8.560 m²
  • competition: 2018
  • 2018 — 2021

Das in den 1950er Jahren entstandene Benjamin Franklin Village im Nord-Osten Mannheims ist mit 88 Hektar und 220 Gebäuden eines der größten ehemaligen Wohngebiete der in Europa stationierten US-Streitkräfte. Seit Beginn der Revitalisierung 2015 erfährt der Ort, eingebettet in eine großzügige Parkanlage, einen rasanten Wandel. Bis 2025 soll hier durch Konversion und Nachverdichtung ein Stadtteil für rund 9.000 Menschen entstehen, dessen Nutzungsvielfalt von Arbeits-, Betreuungs- und Ausbildungsstätten bis hin zu Kultur-, Freizeit- und Naherholungsmöglichkeiten reicht.

Das zu entwickelnde Baufeld mit einer Größe von ca. 100 x 68 m ist Teil des zentralen Stadtteilquartiers Franklin Mitte. Ausgangspunkt unserer Realisierungsidee ist der Gedanke einer umfassenden Zielgruppenvielfalt und der sozialen Durchmischung. Ein Schwerpunkt für Franklin Mitte wird dabei auf dem Thema „Wohnen für Familien“ liegen. Herzstück und Katalysator einer Kultur solidarischen Zusammenlebens sind die Gemeinschaftsflächen. Das „erweiterte Wohnzimmer“ oder Quartiersforum bildet mit seiner Gemeinschaftsküche und dem Gemeinschaftsraum einen Kristallisationspunkt für das gemeinschaftliche Miteinander in der Nachbarschaft. Ergänzt wird dies durch einen Kinderspiel- und einen Werkraum.

Die Neubauten sind in Holzrahmenkonstruktion mit Hohlkastendecken auf einem Achsraster von 62,5 cm geplant. So wird auf einfache Weise eine hohe Grundrissvariabilität erreicht. Die sehr unterschiedlichen Flächenanforderungen, die sich aus dem Nutzungsmix ergeben, können somit wirtschaftlich und mit einem hohen Nachhaltigkeitsanspruch umgesetzt werden.

Aufgabe

  • Wohnquartier in Holzbauweise mit sozialen Gemeinschaftsräumen

Bauherr

  • Innovatio GbR
  • Profund Bauträger und Projektentwicklung GmbH

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 8.560 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2018
  • 2018 — 2021