© Jan Bitter / video art © Guido van der Werve

The ‘Fluentum’ rooms are located in part of a building complex on Clayallee in the Berlin district of Dahlem, which was designed by the architects Fritz Fuß and Ernst Sagebiel between 1935 and 1938 as the headquarters of Luftgaukommando III (German Air Force Command III). In 1945 the premises were commandeered by the U.S. military governor General Lucius D. Clay, for use as the Berlin Headquarters of the United States Armed Forces. Although at the time of its requisitioning this representative building of the Nazi government underwent a thorough ‘denazification’ process, its provenance today remains quite obvious. In view of such a historical – and aesthetic – burden a classical approach to restoration or reconstruction was not applicable for the task of converting the interiors into a private museum for video art.

Instead, the various rooms were essentially preserved in their state as found, but reduced to their basic structure. The demonstrative materiality of the entrance spaces given by the black Lahn marble has been juxtaposed against an exposed ceiling structure in raw load-bearing concrete. This effectively belies the stone’s massive monumentality – in particular when seen in counterpoint to the video works that are projected here on large screens. The effect of this intervention is also perceived as a ‘deceleration’ of the space. Instead of a suspended plaster ceiling that previously had emphasised the longitudinal direction, now the spatial impression is characterised by concrete beams that span transversely.

In a similar way, subtle measures were undertaken elsewhere to counteract the expression and symbolism of Nazi architecture. For example, the reception hall on the upper floor has remained unchanged in its spatial configuration, however when its worn-out parquet flooring was renewed, a 30 percent larger grid was chosen. This move makes the hall appear significantly smaller; its formerly awe-inspiring scale has been broken and the space has been reduced to a more human scale.

The new use obviously demanded the addition of new pieces of furniture that have been placed freely in the various spaces. The aesthetics and materiality of these counter the existing fabric with a clearly individual, contemporary attitude of understatement. The effort neither to dramatise nor exaggerate runs through the entire project in a design approach that is as simple and restrained as possible.

The U.S. Military Government had attempted to dispel the spirits of the past in these spaces through golden wall inscriptions of well-intended quotations about freedom and democracy. These wall inscriptions represent part of the history of the house and were restored. The architecture of Fluentum subversively opens up a diverse world of perception and meaning that complements the various narratives of art with its own layered histories.

© Jan Bitter / video art © Guido van der Werve
© Jan Bitter / video art © Guido van der Werve

brief

  • Conversion of the interiors of the former U.S. headquarters into a private gallery for an art collector

data

  • gross floor area: 1.281 m²
  • 2017 — 2019

© Jan Bitter / video art © Guido van der Werve

Die Räume des „Fluentum“ befinden sich in einem Teil des Gebäudekomplexes an der Clayallee im Berliner Ortsteil Dahlem, der von den Architekten Fritz Fuß und Ernst Sagebiel zwischen 1935 und 1938 als Sitz des Luftgaukommandos III geplant und gebaut wurde. Ab 1945 wurde die Anlage von den Streitkräften der Vereinigten Staaten requiriert und als deren Berliner Hauptquartier und Sitz des US-amerikanischen Militärgouverneurs General Lucius D. Clay genutzt. Obwohl der Bau bei der Übernahme bereits einer gründlichen „Entnazifizierung“ unterzogen wurde, ist seine Provenienz auch heute noch unübersehbar. Deshalb kam für das Herangehen an die Aufgabe, diese Räume zu einem Privatmuseum für Videokunst umzubauen, kein klassischer Ansatz von Restauration oder Rekonstruktion in Frage.

Entsprechend wurden die vorgefundenen Räume im Wesentlichen erhalten, jedoch auf ihre Grundstruktur reduziert. Dabei wurde die demonstrative Materialität der Ausstellungsräume (schwarzer Lahnmarmor) durch Weglassen der Deckenverkleidung als „Kulisse“ entlarvt, die auch und vor allem im Kontrapunkt zu den auf großen Leinwänden projizierten Videowerken ihre massive Monumentalität ganz verliert. Die Wirkung dieses Eingriffs dient zudem einer „Entschleunigung“ des Raums beim Durchschreiten, da statt der ursprünglichen Abhangdecke mit ihrem Relief in Längsrichtung nun die in Querrichtung verlaufenden Stahlbetonrippen den Eindruck prägen.

In ähnlicher Weise wurden auch an anderer Stelle die gestalterischen Mittel der repräsentativen NS-Architektur durch subtile Maßnahmen konterkariert: Beispielsweise blieb der Saal im Obergeschoss in seiner räumlichen Konfiguration unverändert, bei der Erneuerung des Tafelparketts, das in desolatem Erhaltungszustand war, wurde jedoch ein im Vergleich zum Original um 30 Prozent vergrößertes Verlegeraster gewählt. Dieses lässt den Raum nun deutlich kleiner erscheinen. Der zuvor Ehrfurcht gebietende Maßstab wird gebrochen und der Raum auf ein menschlicheres Maß gebracht.

Natürlich verlangten die neuen Nutzungsansprüche Intervention durch neues Mobiliar, das nun – frei im Raum platziert – dem Bestand eine deutlich eigene, eher zurückhaltende Haltung entgegensetzt.

Die amerikanische Besatzungsmacht versuchte die Geister der Vergangenheit in diesen Räumen durch goldene Wandinschriften gutgemeinter Zitate von Freiheit und Demokratie zu vertreiben. Die Wandinschriften wurden restauriert und repräsentieren einen Teil der Geschichte des Hauses. Die Architektur des Fluentum eröffnet nun in subversiver Weise eine vielfältige Wahrnehmungs- und Bedeutungswelt, die den unterschiedlichen Narrativen der Kunst eine eigene Geschichte zur Seite stellt.

© Jan Bitter / video art © Guido van der Werve
© Jan Bitter / video art © Guido van der Werve

Aufgabe

  • Umbau der Innenräume des ehemaligen US-Hauptquartiers zu einer Galerie für einen Kunstsammler

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 1.281 m²
  • 2017 — 2019