© Sergio Grazia

This office building is part of the Claude Bernard urban renewal project for a former hospital campus in the north-east of Paris. The rather narrow site alongside the périphérique ring road has been redeveloped in a coordinated scheme that includes residential apartments, a school and three office blocks. These three taller buildings are placed along the busy ring road so as to shield the rest of the site from traffic noise.

The Claude Bernard office building responds to its prominent corner plot next to the Saint-Denis canal by differentiating the volume into a two-storey base and a six-storey main block that rests above it on pilotis. A gently sloping front garden leads down from Boulevard MacDonald to the entrance foyer, which borders a linear park alongside the road at canal level.

One of the main tasks of the smart skin is to provide acoustic insulation in addition to solar screening. The integrated services concept uses renewable energy sources and a local district-cooling network.

The use of colour in the façade develops an interplay between structure and texture to create a striking presence in the cityscape. The irregularly offset ‘folds’ in the building’s external skin reflect the various scales of its surroundings: the smaller-scale residential development to the south and the broad city highway to the north.

© Sergio Grazia
© Sergio Grazia
© Sergio Grazia

brief

  • Office building

client

  • BNP Paribas Immobilier
    IVG Immobilien AG, Paris

data

  • gross floor area: 15.670 m²
  • competition: 2007
  • 2008 — 2012

© Sergio Grazia

Dieses Bürogebäude ist Teil des städtebaulichen Entwicklungsprojekts „Claude Bernard“ am Boulevard périphérique im Nordosten von Paris. Auf dem schmalen Grundstück eines ehemaligen Krankenhausgeländes entstand ein neues Quartier mit Wohnungen, einer Schule sowie drei höheren Bürogebäuden, die, direkt an der Stadtautobahn gelegen, eine akustische Barriere für die rückwärtige Bebauung bilden.

In exponierter Lage am Canal Saint-Denis reagiert der Entwurf auf die extremen Standortbedingungen bei zugleich starren Bauvorschriften mit einer sorgsam differenzierten Kubatur, deren sechsgeschossiges Hauptvolumen auf Pilotis über einem zweigeschossigen Sockel ruht. Ein sanft abfallender Eingangshof verbindet den Boulevard McDonald mit dem Eingangsfoyer, das auf Uferebene des Kanals an einen straßenbegleitenden, linearen Park angrenzt.

Die intelligente Hülle des Gebäudes bietet vor allem Schall-, aber auch Sonnenschutz. Ein integriertes Technikkonzept nutzt regenerative Energiequellen und ein lokales Fernkühlnetz.

Die farbige Gestaltung der Fassade eröffnet ein Spiel zwischen Tektonik und Textonik und bietet so ein markantes Erscheinungsbild im Stadtraum. Die unregelmäßig versetzten „Faltungen“ der Außenhaut vermitteln zu den unterschiedlichen Maßstäben der Umgebung: der kleinteiligeren Wohnbebauung im Süden und der weitläufigen Stadtautobahn im Norden.

© Sergio Grazia
© Sergio Grazia
© Sergio Grazia

Aufgabe

  • Bürogebäude

Bauherr

  • BNP Paribas Immobilier
    IVG Immobilien AG, Paris

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 15.670 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2007
  • 2008 — 2012