© Gerrit Engel

The Experimental Factory Magdeburg is a research institution for a whole range of fields, including the methods and processes of production and the technology of coatings. The building consists of a compact combination of three volumes. Along the street there is a five-storey structure 15m deep for office and laboratory use. The middle building, used for large-scale experiments, is a single-storey hall 8.5m high that is completely separated from the main structure. The western side contains a testing-space for electromagnetic fields.

These heterogeneous elements of the programme are wrapped into a single complex by a large “blanket” in orange, pink and silver stripes. The extruded form of the building takes account of the factory’s position in between a busy four-lane road and the campus on the one hand, and between an existing and a future institute on the other. Accordingly, the north and south façades are treated as cut edges made of translucent glass, while the metal blanket forms a protective skin towards the road. While the space of the building is generated by the continuation of this street façade and its folding into a three-dimensional formation, the blanket expresses its own two-dimensionality in all of its details. For the visitor approaching the university from the east, highly visible above the clutter of road signs and traffic lights, the building constitutes a beacon heralding the world of research, innovation and learning.

© Gerrit Engel
© Gerrit Engel
© Gerrit Engel

Inside the building a double-storey foyer links the various parts of the “factory”. Its orientation allows access from both directions, so that a public route will be able to connect three research institutes like beads on a string. In this space the rhythm of the building was used to generate a spatial composition that interprets the phenomenon of mechanical production.

© Gerrit Engel
© bitterbredt.de
© bitterbredt.de
© Gerrit Engel

brief

  • Multifunctional building for laboratories, production facilities and offices

client

  • Zentrum für Produkt-, Verfahrens- und Prozessinnovations GmbH, Magdeburg

data

  • gross floor area: 6.700 m²
  • 1998 — 2001

© Gerrit Engel

Die Experimentelle Fabrik Magdeburg ist ein Institut mit vielfältigen Forschungsbereichen wie etwa dem der Beschichtungstechnik, aber auch von Produktionsprozessen und -verfahren. Das Gebäude besteht aus einer Kombination von drei Volumen: Der östliche Flügel bietet mit einer Breite von circa 15 Metern Raum für Büros und Labore, im Mittelteil befindet sich – schwingungstechnisch getrennt – eine Halle von 8,50 Meter Höhe, und den westlichen Abschluss des Gebäudes bildet das Großlabor des Elektromagnetischen Verträglichkeitsraums (EMV).

Diese heterogenen Nutzungselemente werden mit einer großen gestreiften Metall-„Decke“, die in den Farben Orange, Pink und Silbergrau gehalten ist, in einem Komplex zusammengefasst. Das wellenförmige Profil des Hauses reagiert einerseits auf seine Position zwischen einer viel befahrenen Bundesstraße und dem Campus, andererseits auf seine Lage zwischen zwei gegenüber liegenden Institutsgebäuden (von denen eines noch zu errichten ist). Dementsprechend sind die Fassaden nach Norden und Süden gläsern, glatt und „abgeschnitten“, während die geschwungene Metallfassade eine schützende Haut zur Straße hin bildet. Die Fortsetzung und Faltung dieser Fassadenfläche bildet das dreidimensionale Volumen des Gebäudes, wobei die Zweidimensionalität der Haut in allen Details spürbar bleibt. Für den Autofahrer, der sich von Osten nähert, stellt die EFM einen über alle Verkehrsanlagen hinweg sichtbaren Auftakt zur Welt des Studierens, Forschens und der Innovation dar.

© Gerrit Engel
© Gerrit Engel
© Gerrit Engel

Hauptorientierungs- und Bezugspunkt im Gebäude ist das zweigeschossige Foyer mit einer offenen Treppenanlage, die sowohl die ersten zwei Geschosse als auch die beiden Gebäudeseiten optisch und funktional miteinander verbindet. Hier wurde aus dem Rhythmus des Hauses eine Raum- und Farbkomposition entwickelt, die sich aus der Assoziation einer Maschinenproduktion herleitet.

© Gerrit Engel
© bitterbredt.de
© bitterbredt.de
© Gerrit Engel

Aufgabe

  • Labore, Büros, Konferenzräume, Fabrikation

Bauherr

  • Zentrum für Produkt-, Verfahrens- und Prozessinnovations GmbH, Magdeburg

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 6.700 m²
  • 1998 — 2001