© Gira

The Gira Company, a premium manufacturer of electrotechnical devices in the German town of Radevormwald, has steadily expanded in recent decades. Since their previous company grounds have reached their limits, Sauerbruch Hutton were asked to develop a new location where Gira’s four main departments – innovation, production, logistics and shipping – would be combined and arranged optimally in relation to each other, yet being expandable independently from one another.

The flexibility of the new structure allows for extending its initial size of 30 000 m² up to a total of 50 000 m² GFA, providing a sustainable spatial concept that takes further expansion and changing needs of the company into account.

The four departments share a central axis of access that will function as the backbone for future development. The office spaces are placed on top of the production hall, its regular grid of skylights defining the grid of courtyards that perforate the office level. Future extensions of either department will simply carry on this modular grid, granting daylight and views to the outside for both production hall and offices.

An open mezzanine suspended into the production hall links the departments visually, spatially and functionally. It accommodates a central conference area open to developers, production staff and visitors alike.

© Gira
© Sauerbruch Hutton
© Sauerbruch Hutton
© Sauerbruch Hutton

brief

  • Company's new centre for production, logistics and development

client

  • GIRA Giersiepen GmbH + Co.Kg.

data

  • gross floor area: 30.640 m²
  • 2014 — 2019

project team

Jörg Albeke

Thomas Braun

Katja Correll

Margarita De San Valentin Viton

Ramiro Forné

Stefan Fuhlrott

Philipp Hesse

Wilhelm Jouaux

Jose Maria Lavena

Erik Levander

Jörg Maier

Elena Martinez

Isabelle McKinnon

Tanja Reiche-Hoppe

Amaia Sanchez Velasco

Sandra Scheffl

Christian Alexander Seidel

Marina Stoynova

Markus Weber

Daniel Wedler

© Gira

Der Unternehmenssitz des Gebäudesystemtechnikherstellers Gira im bergischen Radevormwald wurde in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stetig erweitert. Da die Kapazitäten am bisherigen Standort nun ausgeschöpft sind, haben Sauerbruch Hutton an einem weiteren Standort einen neuen Gebäudekomplex entwickelt, in dem die vier Hauptbereiche Innovation, Produktion, Logistik und Versand optimal gebündelt werden.

Das Raumkonzept bietet die Möglichkeit, diese vier Bereiche jeweils unabhängig voneinander zu erweitern. Die architektonische Struktur ist so flexibel konzipiert, dass sie nach Bedarf von zunächst 30.000 m² auf insgesamt 50.000 m² BGF wachsen kann und sich damit an die weitere Entwicklung des Unternehmens anpassen kann.

Die vier Bereiche teilen sich eine zentrale Erschließungsachse, die auch in zukünftigen Entwicklungsstadien Bestand haben wird. Der Bürobereich liegt über der Produktionshalle, deren Dach von einem modularen Raster von Oberlichtern überzogen ist. Diesem Raster entsprechend bilden die Büros Lichthöfe. Bei Erweiterung eines der beiden Bereiche kann das Raster fortgeschrieben und somit stets in gleicher Weise Tagesbelichtung und Außenbezug für sowohl Halle als auch Büros gewährleistet werden.

Als alles verbindendes Element wird ein Mezzanin mit teilweise offenen Ebenen in die Halle eingehängt, das räumliche, visuelle und funktionale Beziehungen zwischen den Bereichen herstellt. Ein zentraler Konferenzbereich steht dort Entwicklern, Produktionsmitarbeitern und Besuchern gleichermaßen zur Verfügung.

© Gira
© Sauerbruch Hutton
© Sauerbruch Hutton
© Sauerbruch Hutton

Aufgabe

  • Unternehmensstandort mit Entwicklung, Produktion und Logistik

Bauherr

  • GIRA Giersiepen GmbH + Co.Kg.

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 30.640 m²
  • 2014 — 2019

Projektteam

Jörg Albeke

Thomas Braun

Katja Correll

Margarita De San Valentin Viton

Ramiro Forné

Stefan Fuhlrott

Philipp Hesse

Wilhelm Jouaux

Jose Maria Lavena

Erik Levander

Jörg Maier

Elena Martinez

Isabelle McKinnon

Tanja Reiche-Hoppe

Amaia Sanchez Velasco

Sandra Scheffl

Christian Alexander Seidel

Marina Stoynova

Markus Weber

Daniel Wedler