The initial stimulus for developing this contemporary residential quarter in the Berlin district of Kreuzberg was a proposal to convert an office high-rise from the 1970s into a residential building. The scheme’s layout is based on the palimpsest of this site at the edge of Berlin’s Friedrichstadt district, whose 19th-century city block structure suffered heavy destruction during the Second World War and was consequently due to be remodelled as a modernist urban landscape – although this intention was never fully carried out.

The proposal interprets this layering of ideas and city structures while adding refinements of its own. For example, a public green corridor is proposed along the course of the urban motorway once planned in the north; this is flanked by a residential area in the middle of the site, while the canal to the south is bordered by a mixed-use quarter that embeds the existing high-rise. All this generates a composition of individual forms and interstices that responds to the existing buildings, outdoor spaces and circulation networks and assimilates the two urban design strategies: the free arrangement of individual buildings and the continuation of Kreuzberg’s street pattern of city blocks.

Pairs of apartment houses are united around a shared garden area to form an ‘urban table’, creating a clear hierarchy of public and semi-private zones. The widespread use of the ground floors to accommodate community functions amounts to an active ‘city level’ that gives the whole quarter vitality and a sense of identity. The overall result is an open city quarter of great typological diversity that opens a new chapter in the story of urban life in Berlin.

brief

  • Redevelopment of a mixed-use quarter around a 1960s tower with new buildings for housing, retail, offices, hotel, childcare centre

client

  • CG Gruppe AG

data

  • gross floor area: 68.300 m²
  • competition: 2014, 1st prize

project team

Sara Czerwinska

Vera Hagspiel

Moritz Maria Karl

Jarek Karpik

Yves Kervoelen

Erik Levander

Nils Lindhorst

Elena Martinez

Moojin Park

Katharina Riedel

Vesselina Shushulova

Waldemar Wilwer

Der Anlass für die Entwicklung dieses zeitgenössischen Wohnquartiers im Westen Kreuzbergs war der Plan, ein Bürohochhaus aus den 1970er-Jahren zu einem Wohngebäude umzunutzen. Die Struktur des Entwurfs baut auf dem Palimpsest des Grundstücks am Rande der Berliner Friedrichstadt auf, dessen Blockstruktur des 19. Jahrhunderts nach den Zerstörungen des Zweiten Weltkriegs mit einer modernen Stadtlandschaft überplant wurde, die jedoch nie vollständig zur Ausführung kam.

Der neue Vorschlag interpretiert diese überlagerten Strukturen, setzt aber auch eigene Akzente. So wird im Verlauf der einst geplanten Stadtautobahn im Norden ein öffentlicher Grünzug vorgeschlagen, in der Mitte ein Wohnquartier am Park und im Süden ein gemischt genutztes Quartier am Kanal, das das bestehende Hochhaus rahmt. So entsteht eine Komposition von Einzelfiguren und Zwischenräumen, die an die bestehenden Bauten, Räume und Wegebeziehungen anknüpft und beide städtebaulichen Haltungen miteinander vereint: die freie Anordnung von Solitären und die Fortsetzung der Kreuzberger Straßenräume.

Jeweils zwei Wohnblocks werden mit einem gemeinsamen Hofgarten zu einem „Urban Table“ verbunden, sodass eine klare Hierarchie von halböffentlichen und öffentlichen Zonen entsteht. Die groß angelegte Gemeinschaftsnutzung des Erdgeschosses als aktive „Stadtebene“ verleiht dem ganzen Quartier Leben und Identität. Es entsteht ein offener Stadtbaustein von großer typologischer Vielfalt, der das städtische Wohnen in Berlin in eine neue Dimension fortschreibt.

Aufgabe

  • Masterplan für ein städtisches Sanierungsgebiet mit Mischnutzung aus Wohnen, Einzelhandel, Büros, Hotel, Kindertagesstätte; ein bestehendes Hochhaus wird erhalten und umgenutzt

Bauherr

  • CG Gruppe AG

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 68.300 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2014, 1. Preis