© Hager Group/Jan Bitter

Located in the town of Obernai in Alsace, this building for the Hager Group was conceived as a forum in the best sense of the word: a place for communication where ideas, information, innovation and skills come together – a physical as well as virtual centre.

In the heterogeneous landscape of the urban periphery, the large roof with its elegant wooden truss structure serves as an organising element that unites all of the functional areas. On plan, the offices, meeting rooms and studios are laid out along the two bars of a letter H, lining two generous atria that are suitable for a variety of purposes such as group visits, exhibitions, large-scale meetings and special events. The roof extends southwards to form a covered forecourt that welcomes visitors just as they arrive inside the main gate to the firm’s premises. As this forecourt is also crossed by many internal circulation routes, it forms the natural focal point of the site as a whole.

In its materials and rhythm, the building’s façade is a poetic interpretation of the work that is done on the site: the mechanised production of metal parts. In its unpretentious appearance, its flexibility and its robust logic, the design belongs to the family of industrial buildings around it. A closer look, however, reveals the Hager Forum’s sophistication in terms of its programme, performance, technology and material, coupled with precision in planning and detail – a subtle yet effective statement of the company’s philosophy.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

brief

  • Company showroom with exhibition spaces, education centre, lecture hall, offices, café

client

  • Hager Group

data

  • gross floor area: 7.400 m²
  • competition: 2012, 1st prize
  • 2012 — 2015

awards

  • German Design Award 2016, Special Mention

project team

Jörg Albeke

Sibylle Bornefeld

Anna Czigler

Stefan Fuhlrott

Stephanie Heese

Rémi Jalade

Nils Lindhorst

Ernest (Hiok Hoe) Ng

Meta Popp

Maria Saffer

Vesselina Shushulova

Nora Steinhöfel

© Hager Group/Jan Bitter

Dieses Gebäude für die Hager Gruppe im elsässischen Obernai ist ein Forum im besten Sinne des Wortes: ein kommunikativer Ort, an dem Ideen, Informationen, Talente und Fähigkeiten zusammenkommen, ein räumliches wie ideelles Zentrum.

In der diffusen Landschaft der städtischen Peripherie dient ein großes Dach mit einer eleganten Holzfachwerkkonstruktion als Ordnungselement, das alle Nutzungsbereiche unter sich versammelt. Seminarräume, Büros und Ateliers sind im Grundriss H-förmig angeordnet und bilden zwei großzügige Atrien, die flexibel für den Empfang von Besuchergruppen, für Ausstellungen, Versammlungen und besondere Events nutzbar sind. Im Süden definiert das Dach einen wettergeschützten öffentlichen Vorplatz, der, unmittelbar am Haupttor gelegen, den Auftakt zum Firmenareal bildet und am Kreuzungspunkt zahlreicher interner Wegebeziehungen zum natürlichen Epizentrum des gesamten Standortes wird.

Die Fassade ist in ihrem Rhythmus und ihrer Materialität eine poetische Interpretation dessen, was auf dem Gelände vor sich geht, der mechanisierten Produktion von Metallteilen. In seiner direkten Machart, seiner Flexibilität und seiner robusten Logik ist das Gebäude Teil der Familie der umgebenden Nutzbauten. In Programm und Funktionsweise, Gebäudetechnik, Materialität und der Präzision in Konzept und Detail offenbart sich jedoch eine Raffinesse, die en passant das Selbstverständnis des Unternehmens adäquat repräsentiert.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

Aufgabe

  • Showroom mit Ausstellungsflächen, Schulungsräumen, Vortragsraum, Büros, Café

Bauherr

  • Hager Group

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 7.400 m² 6500 SDP
  • Wettbewerb: 2012, 1. Preis
  • 2012 — 2015

Auszeichnungen

  • German Design Award 2016, Special Mention

Projektteam

Jörg Albeke

Sibylle Bornefeld

Anna Czigler

Stefan Fuhlrott

Stephanie Heese

Rémi Jalade

Nils Lindhorst

Ernest (Hiok Hoe) Ng

Meta Popp

Maria Saffer

Vesselina Shushulova

Nora Steinhöfel