© Jan Bitter

This faculty building for the University of Sheffield grew out of a master plan that had been drawn up by Sauerbruch Hutton. With three cranked wings for the Department of Modern Languages, the School of English and the Department of History, the building responds to a hetero­geneous environment between a busy road and roundabout on one side and a quieter campus area on the other. Each of the three wings picks up the height of its neighbouring buildings and defines outdoor spaces of differing character. An atrium forms the spatial and organisational hub of the new building; its location at the intersection of the departments allows it to function as an interdisciplinary meeting point on each floor. The university’s visitors’ centre is on the ground floor.

The façade, clad in stainless steel and coloured glass, appears as a woven textile that associates each department with a different colour range. The building is naturally ventilated throughout, with reversible solar shading in the double-layered windows. On the elevations that face the noisy road, supply air is drawn into the building via perforations in the stainless steel spandrels and a noise-absorbing chamber, while used air is exhausted via integrated convection shafts behind the bi-coloured vertical ribbons.

The building itself was conceived as a simple and robust structure. The requirement for low operating costs, functionality and sustainability is elevated here to the aesthetic logic of a strategy of sustainability beyond technology.

© noshe
© noshe
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

brief

  • University building with offices, seminar rooms, visitor centre, exhibition spaces, café

client

  • The University of Sheffield

data

  • gross floor area: 5.900 m²
  • competition: 2006
  • 2006 — 2008

© Jan Bitter

Dieses Fakultätsgebäude der Universität Sheffield entstand auf Grundlage eines städtebaulichen Masterplans von Sauerbruch Hutton. Mit drei abgewinkelten Flügelbauten für die Fachbereiche Moderne Sprachwissenschaften, Englisch und Geschichte reagiert das Gebäude auf ein heterogenes Umfeld zwischen einer viel befahrenen Straße mit Kreisverkehr und einem ruhigeren Campusbereich. Die jeweiligen Gebäudeflügel schließen an die Höhen der Nachbarbauten an und rahmen zu drei Seiten unterschiedliche Raumsituationen. Ein zentrales Atrium bildet das räumliche und ideelle Zentrum des Neubaus und dient auf den Etagen als interdisziplinärer Ort der Begegnung am Schnittpunkt der Fachbereiche. Im Erdgeschoss befindet sich das Besucherzentrum der Universität.

Die Fassade des Baus besteht aus einer Verkleidung aus Edelstahl und farbigem Glas, die wie ein textiles Gewebe erscheint und für jede Fakultät farblich spezifisch akzentuiert ist. Das Gebäude wird natürlich belüftet, reversibler Sonnenschutz ist in den Kastenfenstern vorgesehen. In die Doppelfassade an der Straßenseite wird Zuluft über schallgedämmte Fassadenöffnungen eingebracht. Die Abluft entweicht hier über Konvektionsschächte, die hinter den vertikalen Bändern in die Fassade integriert sind.

Der Bau ist als nüchterne und robuste Struktur konzipiert. Reduktion von Unterhaltskosten, praktische und ökologische Überlegungen werden zur ästhetischen Logik einer Strategie der Nachhaltigkeit jenseits der Technik.

© noshe
© noshe
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

Aufgabe

  • Universitätsgebäude mit Büros, Seminarräumen, Besucherzentrum, Ausstellungsflächen, Café

Bauherr

  • The University of Sheffield

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 5.900 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2006
  • 2006 — 2008