© Jan Bitter

In order to create contemporary and flexible studio spaces for their practice, Sauerbruch Hutton renovated and extended a former Prussian military uniform factory. Built in 1880, this is the largest building in an ensemble of brick barracks that has been progressively converted by artists and architects since the 1970s.

The project involved the complete renovation of the second floor – which had been haphazardly reconstructed in the wake of war damage – and the addition of a third floor. While the colour, material and detailing of the upper façade, with its blue-grey plaster, flush-set windows and zigzag silhouette, are in deliberate contrast to the base of the building, its rhythmical articulation derives from the lower portion’s listed brick façade.

Inside, on the refurbished second floor, a long glass wall runs the full length of the space, delineating a series of offices to the north and a generous open-plan area to the south. In contrast, the new third floor has been divided laterally. Here a pair of 90 m2 loft-type spaces – one a reception area, the other a conference room – are linked by a spacious gallery that also gives access to a library and five smaller offices and meeting rooms. The spacious and airy character of this representative area is emphasised by a series of large roof lights, the off-white of the walls and the generosity of the wide Douglas fir floorboards that stretch from wall to wall. The atmosphere is both creative and professional, yet does not sacrifice the industrial aesthetic of the original.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

brief

  • Conversion and extension of a former barracks building

data

  • gross floor area: 980 m²
  • 2007 — 2009

© Jan Bitter

Mit der Aufstockung und Sanierung einer ehemaligen Uniformschneiderei der preußischen Armee wurde das Büro von Sauerbruch Hutton um zeitgemäße und räumlich flexible Büroflächen erweitert. Das Gebäude ist Teil einer um 1880 errichteten Kaserne und heute der größte noch erhaltene Einzelbau des Ensembles, das sich Künstler und Architekten seit den 1970er-Jahren schrittweise angeeignet haben.

Der Umbau umfasste die Sanierung des nach Kriegsschäden neu aufgebauten zweiten Obergeschosses sowie die Aufstockung um ein weiteres Geschoss. In Farbe, Material und Detail setzt sich das ergänzte Volumen mit seiner blaugrauen Putzfassade, dem Sheddach und den außenbündigen Fenstern deutlich von seiner Basis ab, während die Gliederung der Fassade von der denkmalgeschützten Backsteinfassade fortgeführt wird.

Im Inneren ist die zweite Etage in der Längsachse durch eine Glaswand in kleinere Büroräume im Norden und einen Großraumbereich im Süden gegliedert. Die dritte Etage ist dagegen quer gegliedert. Zwei 90 Quadratmeter große Lofts – als Rezeption beziehungsweise „Projektraum“ genutzt – werden von einer großzügigen Galerie verbunden, die eine Bibliothek und fünf weitere Besprechungs- und Büroräume verbindet. Der offene und helle Charakter dieses repräsentativen Bereichs wird durch die Oberlichter des Sheddachs, das gebrochene Weiß der Wände und die durchlaufenden Dielen aus Douglasie unterstrichen, die eine kreative und gleichermaßen repräsentative Atmosphäre erzeugen, ohne die rohe Ästhetik des Industriebaus aufzugeben.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

Aufgabe

  • Umnutzung und Aufstockung eines ehemaligen Kasernengebäudes

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 980 m²
  • 2007 — 2009