© Jan Bitter

This residential and studio building for a cohousing group of ten parties marks a further step in the revitalisation of Werkhof L57, an ensemble of historic barracks, modern extensions and new structures that has evolved into a lively creative quarter over the past two decades.

The new four-storey building occupies the plot between a recently completed structure in exposed concrete and an historic one made of brick. While its height and roof profile mediate between these two neighbours, its strictly rectangular floor plan respects the regular forms that comprise the former military compound. At the same time any rigidity in its volume is optically dissolved by the slightly undulating stainless steel cladding whose irregular reflection of the surroundings lends the façade a quasi-fluid character.

The units display a variety of interior layouts that mirror the range of ideas that individual members of the group had about the way in which they might want to live and work. What they all had in common was a desire for maximum flexibility and freedom in the division and use of their spaces, also in the long term. This was achieved by means of prestressed concrete slabs that result in entirely column-free floor areas of 47 x 10 m, and by the positioning of all service shafts within the depth of the façade. So that each of the maximum of eight flats per floor can enjoy an outlook to both north and south, they are accessed along balconies on the south façade that are in turn reached from a central staircase. In this way communal outdoor spaces are created that can also be used as private balconies for the adjoining units.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

brief

  • Residential and studio building for a
    cohousing group

data

  • gross floor area: 1.951 m²
  • 2012 — 2017

awards

  • DAM Preis für Architektur in Deutschland 2019, nomination

© Jan Bitter

Dieses Wohn- und Ateliergebäude für eine Baugruppe von zehn Parteien ist ein weiterer Baustein auf dem Werkhof L57, einem Ensemble historischer Kasernenbauten und moderner Auf- und Neubauten, das sich in den letzten 20 Jahren zu einem sehr lebendigen Kreativquartier entwickelt hat.

Der viergeschossige Neubau besetzt das Baufeld zwischen einem zeitgenössischen Sichtbetonbau und einem historischen Backsteingebäude. Seine Höhe und Dachform vermittelt zwischen diesen beiden Nachbarn, während sein streng rechteckiges Volumen den militärischen Duktus der Bestandsbauten fortsetzt. Zugleich reflektiert das wellige Edelstahlblech der Fassade die umliegenden Gebäude ungleichmäßig und löst das Gebäude optisch in eine fast fließende Erscheinung auf.

Die wechselnden Räumlichkeiten im Innern spiegeln die individuellen Vorstellungen vom Wohnen und Arbeiten wider, die die unterschiedlichen Mitglieder der Baugruppe haben. Der gemeinsame Wunsch waren maximale Flexibilität und (auch zukünftige) Freiheit in der Aufteilung und Nutzung der Flächen. Erreicht wurde dies mithilfe einer Konstruktion aus Spannbetondecken, die die Grundfläche von 47 x 10 m komplett stützenfrei lässt, sowie durch die Verlegung der Leitungsschächte in die Fassadenebene. Damit jede der maximal acht Wohnungen pro Etage nach Norden und Süden ausgerichtet werden kann, erfolgt ihr Zugang über Erschließungsbalkone an der Südfassade, auf die man über ein mittig liegendes Treppenhaus gelangt. So entstehen gemeinschaftliche Außenbereiche, die von den außenliegenden Wohnungen auch als private Balkone genutzt werden können.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

Aufgabe

  • Wohn- und Atelierhaus für eine
    Baugruppe

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 1.951 m²
  • 2012 — 2017