A largely vacant plot along Lehrter Straße in the Moabit district of Berlin is to be redeveloped as a new residential neighbourhood with a typology derived from the local urban structure and character. Situated between a former military parade ground to the west and railway yards to the east, Lehrter Straße has never shared the dense structure of the perimeter blocks that characterised Hobrecht’s Berlin of the mid-nineteenth century. Instead, the area is a patchwork of Prussian military buildings, scattered blocks of flats and various freestanding buildings of more recent vintage.

The master plan embodies this spirit of pluralism in a development pattern that articulates detached buildings within a densely built fabric, while creating sheltered, quiet courtyards and permeable perimeter spaces combined with an optimal outlook for the flats. This also avoids the impression of a barrier to the flow of space.

The buildings of six and eight storeys are planned for rental units and condominiums in roughly equal measure. An urban accent is placed on a central square, where the necessary retail space is also concentrated.

The master plan combines a coherent spatial order with a high degree of singularity in the architecture of the individual buildings, which are designed by eight different architectural practices.

brief

  • Master plan for a mixed-use quarter with housing, retail space and recreational facilities / Object planning for four residential buildings on the new square with retail and community facilities

client

  • Groth Gruppe

data

  • gross floor area: 109.900 m²
  • competition: 2013, 1st prize
  • 2013 — 2020

project team

Alessa Hansen

Ben Hansen

Caroline Holzmann

Wolfgang König

Jose Maria Lavena

Jennifer O'donnell

Sarah Perackis

Daniela Quang

Sandra Scheffl

Auf einem weitgehend brachliegenden Grundstück in der Lehrter Straße im Berliner Ortsteil Moabit entsteht ein Wohnquartier, dessen spezifische Typologie aus der Struktur und dem Charakter des Orts entwickelt wurde. Zwischen einem ehemaligen Exerzierfeld im Westen und Bahnanlagen im Osten gelegen, war die Lehrter Straße nie Teil des Hobrecht’schen Berlin mit seiner dichten Blockbebauung. Stattdessen findet sich hier ein Patchwork aus ehemaligen Militärbauten, vereinzelten Mietshäusern und jüngeren Bauten in offener Bauweise.

Der Masterplan verbindet diesen Geist des Pluralismus in einer Bebauungsfigur, die freistehende Gebäude so aufreiht, dass einerseits eine dichte Bebauung mit schallgeschützten Wohnhöfen und aufgelockerten Raumkanten mit optimierter Orientierung der Wohnungen entsteht. Andererseits wird der Eindruck einer räumlichen Barriere vermieden.

In der sechs- beziehungsweise achtgeschossigen Bebauung sind in etwa zu gleichen Teilen Miet- und Eigentumswohnungen vorgesehen. An einem zentralen Stadtplatz, an dem sich die notwendigen Einzelhandelsflächen konzentrieren, soll ein städtebaulicher Akzent gesetzt werden.

Der Masterplan verbindet den hohen Grad an Individualität der einzelnen von acht unterschiedlichen Architekten geplanten Häuser mit einer kohärenten räumlichen Ordnung.

Aufgabe

  • Städtebaulicher Masterplan für ein durchmischtes Wohnquartier mit Einzelhandel und Freizeiteinrichtungen / Objektplanung für vier Wohnhäuser mit Läden und Gemeinschaftseinrichtungen am Stadtplatz

Bauherr

  • Groth Gruppe

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 109.900 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2013, 1. Preis
  • 2013 — 2020