Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia

M9 is a museum of the cultural inheritance of the 20th century, located in a small museum quarter in Mestre, the mainland gateway to Venice. An agent of urban renewal, this educational institution and events venue provides a point of local identification and helps to redress the disparity of cultural wealth between Mestre and the tourist magnet across the lagoon.

The M9 scheme consists of one larger and one smaller new building – for the museum and its offices, respectively – plus a former convent and an office building. Together they frame a new public square and open up a diagonal pedestrian link from Piazza Erminia Ferretto to the important thoroughfare of Via Cappuccina. This passes through the courtyard of the 16th-century Convento delle Grazie, which was renovated and converted for uses that complement those of the small quarter. The route through the block is enlivened at street level by various cafés, restaurants and shops.

The museum building likewise offers public facilities on the ground floor, including a media library, an auditorium, a museum shop and a café. A long, dramatic staircase leads up to the galleries and event spaces. The permanent exhibition occupies two ‘black box’ floors and takes a narrative approach to the history of modern Italy, while temporary exhibitions are housed in a naturally lit ‘white box’ on the top floor.

M9 is an active museum with no thresholds to inhibit entry; it addresses residents and tourists, young and old alike. In its provision of a social location, the development as a whole sustains the lifeblood of the European city.

Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia

brief

  • Museum with media centre and auditorium as well as offices, conference centre, retail, restaurants

client

  • Fondazione di Venezia

data

  • gross floor area: 25.600 m²
  • competition: 2010, 1st prize
  • 2014 — 2018

Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia

M9 ist ein Museum für die Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Es ist Teil eines kleinen, neu entstehenden Museumsviertels in Mestre, auf Venedigs terra ferma, und Triebfeder einer angehenden Stadterneuerung. Teils Bildungs- und teils Veranstaltungsort, dient es als komplementäres Gegenüber zu der vom Tourismus dominierten Inselstadt vor allem als Ort lokaler Identifikation.

Den Mittelpunkt des Viertels bildet ein kleiner Museumsplatz, der Teil einer neuen Wegeverbindung von der zentralen Piazza Erminia Ferretto zur Via Cappuccina ist. Diese Diagonale durch einen bisher unzugänglichen Block wird vom Hauptgebäude des Museums und einem kleineren Verwaltungsbau flankiert und führt weiter durch den Innenhof des Convento delle Grazie, einem Klosterbau aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, der saniert und umgenutzt wurde. Restaurants und Geschäfte in den Erdgeschosszonen beleben den gesamten Weg durch den Block.

Auch das Museumsgebäude beherbergt im Erdgeschoss öffentliche Funktionen wie Mediathek, Auditorium, Museumsshop und Café. Die Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsbereiche in den Obergeschossen erreicht man über eine dramatisch inszenierte Treppe. Eine Dauerausstellung führt auf „narrativen Pfaden“ durch die Moderne Italiens, eine tagesbelichtete White Box auf der obersten Etage steht für Wechselausstellungen zur Verfügung.

M9 ist ein aktives Museum ohne Schwelle zwischen Innen und Außen, das Bewohner wie Touristen, Jung wie Alt adressiert und als sozialer Ort die Essenz der europäischen Stadt am Leben erhält.

Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia
Alessandra Chemollo © Polymnia Venezia

Aufgabe

  • Museumsneubau mit Mediathek und Auditorium sowie Umnutzung von Bestandsgebäuden zu Büros, Konferenzzentrum, Einzelhandel, Gastronomie

Bauherr

  • Fondazione di Venezia

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 25.600 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2010, 1. Preis
  • 2014 — 2018