© sauerbruch hutton

The ever-increasing importance of Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF), the international organisation for emergency medical aid, has necessitated the construction of a new headquarters for its operational centre in Geneva that is located in the immediate vicinity of the United Nations Office and other International Organizations.

The building comprises differently proportioned rooms that encourage various types of work in large, medium and small teams. Individual and group offices are loosely distributed throughout the floors, while interspersed between these there are open spaces that are suitable for communication and interaction as well as for individual work. In addition to the central bank of elevators, a generous staircase runs freely through the entire building, ensuring no rigid separation between floors.

The resulting network-like, transparent spatial structure mirrors the way that the MSF organisation works. On the ground floor, functions such as a restaurant with a terrace as well as the foyer with its adjoining conference area will help to enliven the newly created public square.

The façade is conceived as a timber construction with a high proportion of glazing that corresponds to the core themes of transparency and sustainability. Lushly planted loggias encourage staff to enjoy the external environment. Individual room proportions become legible on the façade and, like a huge jigsaw puzzle, are composed into the clear-cut building volume. This in turn is analogous to the organization as such that comprises individuals pursuing a common goal.

ADRIEN BARAKAT
ADRIEN BARAKAT

brief

  • Operational centre for the humanitarian medical organisation Doctors Without Borders / Médecins Sans Frontières

client

  • Médecins Sans Frontières

data

  • gross floor area: 14.260 m²
  • competition: 2017, 2nd prize, planning commissioned
  • 2018 — 2022

project team

Durch die zunehmende Bedeutung der internationalen Organisation für medizinische Nothilfe Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) ist die Errichtung eines neuen Hauptgebäudes für das operationelle Zentrum in Genf notwendig geworden. Dieses soll in unmittelbarer Nähe zu den Vereinten Nationen entstehen.

Das Haus setzt sich aus unterschiedlich proportionierten Räumen zusammen, welche das Arbeiten in großen, mittleren und kleinen Gruppen fördern. Das Haus verfügt über großzügige Konferenzräume, die den Abteilungen zur gemeinsamen Besprechung dienen. Einzel- und Gruppenbüroräume sind locker auf den Etagen verteilt, so dass dazwischen immer wieder Flächen entstehen, die als offene Kommunikations- und Arbeitsplätze nutzbar sind. Neben der zentralen Vertikal-Erschließung zieht sich durch das ganze Haus eine offene Treppe, welche die starre Trennung zwischen den Geschossen aufhebt.

Die vernetzte und transparente Raumstruktur bietet einen adäquaten Rahmen in Analogie zur Arbeitsweise der Organisation. Im Erdgeschoss bieten ein Restaurant mit Terrasse und das Foyer mit angeschlossenem Konferenzbereich öffentliche Nutzungen an, die die Belebung des neu entstehenden Quartiersplatzes begünstigen.

Die Fassade ist als Holzkonstruktion mit hohem Verglasungsanteil konzipiert, was den Kernthemen von Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit entspricht. Begrünte Loggien erlauben auf verschiedenen Etagen den Austritt ins Freie. Die individuellen Raumproportionen zeichnen sich an der Fassade ab und setzen sich wie ein riesiges Puzzle zu einem klaren Gebäudevolumen zusammen, analog zur Organisation MSF, die sich aus Individuen zusammensetzt, die ein gemeinsames Ziel verfolgen.

Aufgabe

  • Neubau des operationellen Zentrums für die Hilfsorganisation Ärzte Ohne Grenzen / Médecins Sans Frontières

Bauherr

  • Médecins Sans Frontières

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 14.680 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2017, 2. Preis, zur Planung beauftragt
  • 2018 — 2022