© Noshe

The Brandhorst Museum houses a substantial private collection of late 20th-century and contemporary art, predominantly paintings. The building consists of a long volume that lines the street and a taller one that marks the north-eastern corner of Munich’s museum quarter. These are both clad in a textured and polychromatically treated skin, whose gradations in hue and tone give the building the appearance of three simple interlocking volumes.

The museum contains naturally lit galleries on three floors, whose rooms are distinguished by variations in sequence, dimension and proportion. A daylit patio on the lower level serves as the starting point for a suite of artificially illuminated galleries dedicated to photography, media and graphic art. The universal exhibition spaces on the ground floor are illuminated from the side by an innovative daylight guidance system, whereas the large rooms on the top floor, including the polygonal hall designed for Cy Twombly’s Lepanto Cycle, are all naturally lit from above.

The external envelope is composed of ceramic batons mounted in front of a horizontally folded metal skin. Embodying the principle of kinetic polychromy, this lends the building a dynamic appearance with countless gradations between a smooth, almost dematerialised impression when seen from afar and one of a three-dimensional woven structure from close proximity. Like a vast abstract painting, the façade communicates the spirit of the museum as a place where art comes alive.

© Noshe

related essay

Matthias Sauerbruch

© Annette Kisling
© Jan Bitter

Whereas the main objective of the museum’s interior is to create ideal exhibition conditions, that of its polychromatic exterior is to draw attention to the museum’s special character as a place of aesthetic reflection and creativity. The multilayered façade also has a technical function, however: suspended in front of the substructure and the thermal insulation is a horizontally folded bi-coloured metal sheet with fine perforations that absorb noise from traffic on the adjacent roads. Mounted vertically in front of this horizontally structured skin are 36,000 ceramic batons (4 × 4 × 110 cm) glazed in twenty-three colours, which create an oscillating outer envelope.

The overall effect of this superposition of horizontal and vertical lines, in combination with the contrast and merging of the colours, is that the solid outer walls of the building seem to vibrate and become almost immaterial, as their surface appearance changes with the movement of the observer. Countless variations of pattern and texture arise when moving between the oblique view, in which the vertical ceramic batons merge into a solid surface, and the frontal view, in which the mineral layer opens up, thereby revealing the horizontal lines of the background to full effect. Seen from afar, each colour group blends to a uniform and neutral tone with its own particular brightness and hue. As the visitor comes closer, each of these tonal fields resolves into its component colours.

© Jan Bitter

In the tradition of Munich’s other public galleries, almost all of the museum’s rooms are illuminated by daylight – even on the lowest floor. At basement level, the floor space is offset in plan so that the patio can receive light directly from above. On the ground floor, an innovative system of prismatic reflectors directs zenith light into the galleries through an asymmetrically placed clerestory, providing an even level of illumination.

In all of the exhibition spaces, bright daylight (up to 100,000 lux in summer) is filtered by dynamic light louvres and dimmed to gallery strength (approximately 300 lux). Daylight ceilings made of translucent fabric ensure the uniform distribution of light and smooth out any strong variation in light levels. In addition, artificial light sources are mounted above the daylight ceilings to supplement or substitute for the natural light as necessary. Depending on the floor concerned, daylight by itself provides adequate illumination during 50 to 75 per cent of the useum’s normal opening hours.

photo: Annette Kisling / © Cy Twombly Foundation
photo: Annette Kisling / © Sigmar Polke 2009

The exacting requirements for the stability of temperature, relative humidity and air quality in exhibition spaces and storage rooms of international standard can only be met by the installation of technical systems of a very high level. In order to keep costs as low as possible, an energy-saving strategy was developed together with the building services consultant. The building is mainly heated and cooled with the help of a groundwater heat pump, which is fed with groundwater – supplied at the very high temperatures prevailing in Munich’s museum quarter – that is then cooled in the process. Not only does this take advantage of an existing source of free energy, it also normalises the heat balance of the local groundwater.

Further, the interior climate is regulated not only by means of the air supply but primarily through activation of the building components themselves. A system of water-carrying pipes that are installed some ten centimetres beneath the various surfaces enables activation of the thermal capacity of all of the floors and most of the walls in the museum. This system heats or cools the rooms directly by radiation via the walls or floors, establishing a highly stable climate for the works on show. The volume of air circulated can thus be approximately halved in comparison to conventional air-conditioning systems. Moreover, much improved temperature stability is achieved in the exhibition spaces – which gains extra significance in the event of a temporary technical failure.

© Annette Kisling

brief

  • Museum for a private art collection

client

  • Oberste Baubehörde im Bayrischen Staatsministerium des Innern
  • Staatliches Bauamt München I

data

  • gross floor area: 12.110 m²
  • competition: 2002, 1st prize
  • 2005 — 2009

© Noshe

Das Museum Brandhorst beherbergt eine bedeutende Privatsammlung moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, vorwiegend Gemälde. Das Gebäude besteht aus einem langgestreckten Riegel- und dem Kopfbau, der die Nordost-Ecke des Münchner Kunstareals markiert. Beide Gebäudeteile sind durch eine räumlich texturierte und poly­chrome Hülle bekleidet, die das Haus mit abgestufter Farbigkeit und Tonalität als drei verschränkte Einzelvolumen erscheinen lässt.

Im Inneren erstrecken sich die natürlich belichteten Galerien über drei Ebenen, die durch Variationen in Abfolge, Größe und Proportion der Räume differenziert werden. Im Untergeschoss bildet der große tagesbelichtete Patio den Auftakt zu einer Serie von künstlich belichteten Kabinetten für Fotografie, Grafik, Buch- und Medienkunst. Die Ausstellungsbereiche im Erdgeschoss werden mittels innovativer Lichtlenkung von der Seite belichtet, während die oberste Etage durch Oberlichter illuminiert wird. Hier befinden sich die größten Räume, darunter eine eigens für Cy Twomblys monumentalen Lepanto-Zyklus entworfene Galerie.

Die Außenhaut des Gebäudes besteht aus glasierten Keramikstäben sowie einer horizontal gefalteten Metallfassade in zweiter Ebene. Nach dem Prinzip der kinetischen Polychromie ergibt sich eine dynamische Erscheinung mit zahllosen Variationen zwischen einem flächigen, fast entmate­rialisierten Eindruck aus der Ferne und dem einer räumlich gewebten Struktur aus der Nähe. Wie ein großes abstraktes Gemälde macht die Fassade im Stadtraum auf das Museum als Ort lebendiger Kunst aufmerksam.

© Noshe

Essay

Matthias Sauerbruch

© Annette Kisling
© Jan Bitter

Während im Inneren des Museums das Hauptaugenmerk darauf liegt, ideale Ausstellungsbedingungen herzustellen, soll sein polychromes Äußeres auf seine Besonderheit als Ort ästhetischer Wahrnehmung und lebendiger Kunst aufmerksam machen. Die mehrschichtige Fassade hat aber auch eine technische Aufgabe: Vor der Unterkonstruktion und der Wärmedämmung befindet sich eine horizontal gefaltete zweifarbige Blechhaut, deren Feinperforation den Lärm des Autoverkehrs an der Türken- und Theresienstraße absorbiert. Vor dieser horizontal betonten Fassadenfläche bilden dann 36.000 in insgesamt 23 verschiedenen Farben glasierte, vertikale Keramikstäbe (4 × 4 × 110 cm) eine oszillierende äußere Schicht.

In der Fläche erzeugen die Überlagerung der horizontalen und vertikalen Linien sowie der Kontrast und das Verschmelzen der Farben eine Gesamtwirkung, die die geschlossenen Außenwände des Hauses in Schwingung versetzt, fast entmaterialisiert, denn die Oberfläche des Baus verändert sich mit der Bewegung des Betrachters. Zwischen der Schrägsicht, in der sich die vertikalen Keramikstäbe zu einer massiven Fläche zusammenziehen, und der Frontalsicht, bei der sich die mineralische Haut öffnet und der horizontal betonte Hintergrund sichtbar und dominant wird, ergeben sich zahllose Variationen in Materialität und Struktur. Die Farbgruppen vereinen sich aus der Ferne gesehen zu einem neutralen Farbton mit jeweils anderer Helligkeit und eigenem Farbeinschlag. Aus der Nähe betrachtet löst sich jedes dieser Felder wiederum in seine unterschiedlichen Einzelfarben auf.

© Jan Bitter

Die Räume dieses Museums werden in der Tradition der Münchner Häuser fast alle mit Tageslicht belichtet – auch das Untergeschoss. Im Souterrain wird dies durch eine Verschiebung des Grundrisses erzielt, die eine direkte Belichtung des Patios von oben ermöglicht. Im Erdgeschoss lenkt ein innovatives System von Reflektoren das Tageslicht aus dem Zenit über ein asymmetrisch angeordnetes Fensterband in die Galerien und leuchtet diese gleichmäßig aus.

In allen Ausstellungsräumen wird das helle Tageslicht (im Sommer bis zu 100.000 Lux) durch dynamische Lichtlamellen gefiltert und auf Galeriestärke (ca. 300 Lux) abgeblendet. Tageslichtdecken aus transluzentem Textil sorgen für eine gleichmäßige Verteilung des Lichtes und mildern starke Lichtschwankungen. Zusätzlich sind über den Tageslichtdecken Kunstlichtquellen angebracht, die bei Bedarf zugemischt werden beziehungsweise das Tageslicht ersetzen können. Reines Tageslicht kann je nach Etage zu 50 bis 75 Prozent der normalen Öffnungszeiten des Museums genutzt werden.

photo: Annette Kisling / © Cy Twombly Foundation
photo: Annette Kisling / © Sigmar Polke 2009

Hohe Anforderungen an die Stabilität von Temperatur, relativer Luftfeuchte und Luftqualität in Ausstellungsräumen und Depots mit internationalem Standard verlangen einen sehr hohen Grad technischer Installation. Um diesen Aufwand so gering wie möglich zu halten, wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haustechnikbüro eine energiesparende Strategie entwickelt. Die Heizung und Kühlung des Hauses wird weitgehend mit einer Grundwasserwärmepumpe betrieben, die sich aus den sehr hohen Grundwassertemperaturen im Münchner Museumsquartier speist und dieses damit abkühlt. So wird eine vorhandene, kostenfreie Energiequelle genutzt, und nebenbei der Wärmehaushalt des Grundwassers normalisiert.

Zudem wird das Museum nicht nur über die Raumluft, sondern vor allem über eine Bauteilaktivierung temperiert. Mit einem System aus wasserführenden Rohren, die etwa 10 cm unter den Oberflächen liegen, werden alle Fußböden und die meisten Wände des Museums aktiviert. Dieses System strahlt Wärme beziehungsweise Kälte direkt in Wand oder Boden und von dort in den Raum ab, und schafft damit sehr stabile Klimabedingungen für die ausgestellten Werke. Somit kann die umgewälzte Luftmenge im Vergleich zu einer herkömmlichen Klimatisierung durch ausschließlich raumlufttechnische Anlagen annähernd halbiert werden. Dazu ist auch die Temperaturstabilität in den Räumen, insbesondere bei einem temporären Ausfall der Technik, wesentlich höher.

© Annette Kisling

Aufgabe

  • Museum für eine private Kunstsammlung

Bauherr

  • Oberste Baubehörde im Bayrischen Staatsministerium des Innern
  • Staatliches Bauamt München I

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 12.110 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2002, 1. Preis
  • 2005 — 2009

Auszeichnungen

  • International Prize for Sustainable Architecture, Silver Medal
  • Artouro, Bayerischer Architektur Tourismus Preis
  • Designs of the Year 2010, Design Museum London, Nominierung
  • Lubetkin Prize 2009, Nominierung
  • Mies van der Rohe Award 2009, Nominierung

Projektteam

Jörg Albeke

Hirokatsu Asano

Britta Aumüller

Philipp Eckhoff

Lara Eichwede

Philip Engelbrecht

Angelika Fehn Krestas

Ramiro Forné

Felix Habich

Ines Hertwig

Rasmus Jörgensen

Tanja Kausch-Löchelt

Ken Koch

Seamus Kowarzik

Michaela Kunze

Marie Langen

Ilja Leda

Daniela McCarthy

Markus Pfeifer

Maria Saffer

Birgit Schönbrodt

Nadja Stachowski

Paul Steinbrück

Kerstin Treiber

Anja Vogl

Constantin von der Mülbe

Peer Weiß