With a construction height of 50 metres that is exceptional for Constance, this project creates a new landmark for the western approach to the city. At the same time its unusual location in the eye of a ramp of a motorway bridge marks an intermodal traffic junction with cycle paths, bus terminals, car sharing, a water taxi and even a planned cable car.

The design reacts to this traffic-dominated urban landscape. Since the building is mainly experienced in motion by both visitors and passers-by, the façade picks up on the principle of kinetic polychromy. In both its geometry and colourfulness it is conceived in such a way that, depending on speed and position, the passing traveller is offered a constantly changing appearance: the building itself is visually set in motion.

The self-confident outward appearance is countered by an immersive spatial experience inside, where the visitor explores a historical city panorama designed by Yadegar Asisi. Above the more than 30m high exhibition space that is dedicated solely to the illusion of the panorama, a restaurant with a roof terrace opens up to the surrounding landscape in offering a real panoramic view of Lake Constance with the island of Reichenau and, in the distant background, the Alps.

With simple means and a moderate budget, the design develops a non-place into an attractive recreational destination. In doing this, the new landmark radiates in two directions at once: while attracting attention from afar it also transmits it from the interior back out to the city, its surroundings and its history.

brief

  • Exhibition space for a historical city panorama designed by Yadegar Asisi, restaurant with roof terrace

client

  • Parkhotel Pforzheim GmbH

data

  • gross floor area: 6.650 m²
  • 2018 — 2020

project team

Madeleine Appelros

Luca Di Carlo

Taehwan Kim

Erik Levander

Mit einer für Konstanz ungewöhnlichen Bauhöhe von 50 m bildet dieses Projekt ein neues Aushängeschild bei der Anfahrt auf die Stadt. Sein außergewöhnlicher Standort im Auge der Auffahrtsrampe einer Autobahnbrücke markiert zugleich einen intermodalen Verkehrsknotenpunkt mit Fahrradwegen, Busterminals, Carsharing, einem Wassertaxi und sogar einer projektierten Seilbahn.

Auf diese verkehrsorientierte Stadtlandschaft reagiert der Entwurf: Da das Gebäude von Besuchern wie Passanten hauptsächlich in Bewegung erlebt wird, greift die Fassade das Prinzip der kinetischen Polychromie auf. In ihrer Geometrie und Farbigkeit ist sie dahingehend konzipiert, dass sich dem vorbeifahrenden Reisenden, abhängig von Geschwindigkeit und Position, ein ständig wechselndes Erscheinungsbild bietet. Das Gebäude selbst wird optisch in Bewegung versetzt.

Dem selbstbewussten Auftritt nach Außen steht ein immersives Raumerlebnis im Innern gegenüber, wo der Besucher ein von Yadegar Asisi gestaltetes historisches Stadtpanorama erkundet. Über dem mehr als 30m hohen Ausstellungsraum, der allein der Illusion des Panoramas gewidmet ist, öffnet sich ein Restaurant mit Dachterrasse zur umliegenden Landschaft und bietet einen tatsächlichen Rundumblick über den Bodensee und die Insel Reichenau bis hin zu den Alpen.

Mit einfachen Mitteln und einem moderaten Budget entwickelt der Entwurf aus einem Nicht-Ort einen Ausflugsort und strahlt als Landmarke in zwei Richtungen, indem er von weitem die Blicke auf sich zieht, während er sie von innen heraus wieder auf die Stadt, ihre Umgebung und ihre Geschichte lenkt.

Aufgabe

  • Ausstellungsraum für ein von Yadegar Asisi gestaltetes historisches Stadtpanorama, Restaurant mit Dachterrasse

Bauherr

  • Parkhotel Pforzheim GmbH

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 6.650 m²
  • 2018 — 2020