© Annette Kisling

The Offices for the Federal Environmental Agency present a case study for sustainable building. Active and passive strategies for the reduction of energy consumption and carbon dioxide production are realised in an architecture that combines spatial and material economy with a deliberate stimulation of the senses.

The location in a former industrial area was selected to demonstrate the possibilities (and challenges) presented by a brownfield site. Contaminated land has been treated, and both a small existing railway station and a former gas appliance factory were integrated into the complex. The overall form of the new building was designed such that a large portion of the site remains accessible to the citizens of Dessau as a public park. The new building is entered via the “Forum”, a crescent-shaped space that draws the park into the building and acts as a link between the public areas, including a library and a lecture hall. The offices are then accessed through a landscaped, covered atrium, around which the various departments of the Agency are arranged.

The new building combines a compact volume and a high degree of thermal insulation with strategies of intelligent engineering and the use of renewable energy sources. In particular, it benefits from the use of a large geothermal heat exchange system and solar panels. Building materials were chosen according to their ecological suitability, the most visible element being a panel façade made entirely of timber, which is prototypical for Germany.

© bitterbredt.de / Sauerbruch Hutton

The Forum is a covered part of the public space accessible to everyone. It serves as the foyer for all of the Agency’s public facilities: the library, the exhibition and information areas, the auditorium and the reception desk. However, it is also a place in its own right, where exhibition openings, receptions, parties and similar events can be held.

© bitterbredt.de

On the ground floor, the ribbon of offices in the Atrium and Forum is interrupted by special-purpose rooms, known as the “boulders”. They are conceived as part of the park landscape and constructed of bush-hammered, exposed concrete with interior insulation. These solid forms house special facilities like the in-house print shop, filing units and archives.

The largest free-standing “boulder” is in the Forum and contains the auditorium. Like the cafeteria and the extension to the Wörlitzer Bahnhof, it also constitutes an element of the park. The shape of its ground plan takes up the flow of exterior space, mediating between the open and glass-roofed areas of the Forum, and leading one into the depth of the building. The auditorium is accessed from the Forum. Its interior walls are clad with acoustic panelling, and have sufficient depth to accommodate secondary functions such as control and interpreter cabins.

© bitterbredt.de

The enclosed courtyard known as the Atrium can be entered from the Forum only after passing through a security checkpoint. The large space of the Atrium, sheltered from the weather, serves as the internal public sphere. It forms the heart of the Agency, a generous circulation space, a visual focus and a communal space for communication, gatherings and informal work.

© bitterbredt.de

The circulation system of the office building, serving a total of 800 workplaces, works like a tree, with the large Forum as its root. From there the trunk leads into the adjoining Atrium, which is divided into four sections. At each boundary between sections there are three bridges, one above the other, along which paths branch off to the left or right towards the various departments of the Agency. At the end of these bridges are the departments’ reception areas, formed as bridgeheads, where the path again branches off to both sides. Whereas the bridges are fixed in their positions, the division of rooms among the departments can be varied to adapt to the ever-changing needs of the Agency.

© Annette Kisling / Sauerbruch Hutton

The FEA’s Library is housed in the existing “Building 109” and in a new single-storey structure that connects the latter with the main office building. The old building was gutted: it was filled with a three-storey concrete “shelf” and its façade was renovated. The roof of the single-storey connecting hall rises to a height of around 15m in front of the old building and projects over ist roof, thus creating a top-lit volume approximately 8m wide and 14m high, which links the single-storey library space beneath it to the three-storey “shelf” The many openings in the reconstructed north façade offer glimpses from the connecting hall into all three floors of the old building, while opening up the latter to the main space via windows and balconies. The inclined ceiling of the hall encourages a convection current that allows natural ventilation of the library. From outside, the connecting hall appears as a striking sculptural form, visually emphasising the link between the old and the new buildings. Its textured brick skin picks up on the materials used in the existing industrial architecture.

© Annette Kisling
© Annette Kisling

brief

  • Office building with public auditorium, library and restaurant

client

  • Bundesrepublik Deutschland

data

  • gross floor area: 41.000 m²
  • competition: 1998, 1st prize
  • 2002 — 2005

awards

  • Zumtobel Group Award, Lobende Erwähnung
  • Mies van der Rohe Award 2007, ausgewählte Arbeit
  • RIBA Award 2006
  • Balthasar-Neumann-Preis 2006, Anerkennung
  • Holzbaupreis 2006
  • Deutscher Architekturpreis 2005, Auszeichnung

certifications

  • DGNB Certificate ‘Gold’

© Annette Kisling

Der Neubau für das Umweltbundesamt ist als beispielhaftes Projekt ökologischen Bauens geplant worden. Aktive und passive Maßnahmen zur Einschränkung von Energieverbrauch und Kohlendioxid-Ausstoß werden mit einer Architektur kombiniert, die eine entsprechende räumliche und materielle Ökonomie mit der bewussten Stimulation der Sinne verbindet.

Der Standort auf der Brache des Dessauer Gasviertels ist unter dem Gesichtspunkt des nachhaltigen Städtebaus ausgewählt worden. Kontaminierte Flächen wurden saniert, die Bestandsbauten des Wörlitzer Bahnhofs und einer alten Gasgerätefabrik wurden in den Komplex integriert. Die Form des Neubaus wurde so gewählt, dass ein Großteil des Grundstücks der Öffentlichkeit als Park zur Verfügung steht. Man betritt das neue Gebäude über das «Forum», das diesen Park ins Gebäude «hineinzieht». Vom Forum aus werden die öffentlichen Bereiche des Amtes wie etwa die Bibliothek und der Hörsaal erschlossen. Der Rest des Komplexes wird über das an das Forum anschließende, überdachte Atrium betreten.

Das Gebäude verbindet eine kompakte Gesamtform und hohe Außenwanddämmung mit Strategien intelligenter Haustechnik und dem Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien. Es verfügt über einen sehr großen Luft-Erdwärmetauscher sowie über eine Fotovoltaikanlage und thermische Solarkollektoren. Die zum Einsatz kommenden Baumaterialien wurden nach ökologischen Gesichtspunkten ausgesucht, so zum Beispiel die in dieser Größenordnung und Nutzung für Deutschland prototypische Holz-Elementfassade.

© bitterbredt.de / Sauerbruch Hutton

Das Forum ist ein überdachter Teil des öffentlichen Freiraums, zugänglich für jedermann. Einerseits dient es als Foyer für alle öffentlichen Einrichtungen des Amtes: die Bibliothek, den Ausstellungs- und den Informationsbereich, den Hörsaal und die Rezeption. Andererseits ist es selbst Veranstaltungsort für Vernissagen, Empfänge, Feste und ähnliche Anlässe.

© bitterbredt.de

Im Erdgeschoss wird das Büroband im Atrium- und Forumbereich von Sonderräumen, den so genannten „Felsen“, unterbrochen. Sie werden als Teil der Parklandschaft gesehen und sind in scharriertem Sichtbeton ausgeführt. In diesen massiven Körpern sind spezielle Einrichtungen wie die Hausdruckerei, Registraturen, Archive usw. untergebracht.

In dem größten frei stehenden „Felsen“ im Forum befindet sich der Hörsaal. Er bildet wie auch die Kantine und der Anbau des Wörlitzer Bahnhofs ein Element des Parks. Seine Grundrissform nimmt den Bewegungsfluss des Außenraums auf, vermittelt zwischen dem offenen und dem glasüberdeckten Bereich des Forums und führt in die Tiefe des Gebäudes hinein. Der Hörsaal wird vom Forum aus erschlossen. Sein Innenraum ist von einer akustisch verkleideten Wand umgeben, die tief genug ist, um Nebenfunktionen wie die Regie- und Dolmetscherkabinen aufzunehmen.

© bitterbredt.de

Der geschlossene Hofbereich wird Atrium genannt. In das Atrium gelangt man nur über eine Sicherheitskontrolle. Der große wettergeschützte Raum dient der internen Öffentlichkeit des Hauses. Er bildet das „Herz des Amtes, ein großzügiger Erschließungsraum, ein visueller Fokus sowie ein Ort, an dem man sich trifft und auf informelle Art miteinander kommunizieren kann.

© bitterbredt.de

Die Erschließung des 800 Arbeitsplätze umfassenden Amtes folgt dem Muster eines Baumes: Die „Wurzel“ ist das große Forum. Von dort führt der „Stamm“ in das anschließende Atrium, das in vier Abschnitte gegliedert ist. Zwischen diesen Abschnitten breiten sich jeweils drei Brücken wie „Äste“ nach links und rechts in die einzelnen Fachbereiche des Umweltbundesamtes aus. Am Ende der Brücken befinden sich zu „Brückenköpfen“ ausgebildete Empfangsbereiche für die jeweiligen Fachbereiche, die sich von dort wieder zu beiden Seiten hinverzweigen. Während die Brücken in ihrer Lage feststehen, können die Grenzen zwischen den einzelnen Fachbereichen dem sich ständig ändernden Bedarf angepasst werden.

© Annette Kisling / Sauerbruch Hutton

Die Bibliothek des Amtes ist im „Altbau 109“ und einem neuen eingeschossigen Zwischenbau untergebracht, der die ehemalige Fabrik und das Dienstgebäude miteinander verbindet. Der Altbau wurde entkernt und mit einem dreigeschossigen „Hochregal“ aus Beton gefüllt. Die Fassade wurde renoviert. Das Dach des eingeschossigen Zwischenbaus steigt vor dem Altbau auf circa 15 Meter an und ragt über dessen bestehendes Dach hinaus, so dass ein 8 Meter breiter und 14 Meter hoher, von oben belichteter Raum entsteht, der den eingeschossigen Bibliotheksraum mit dem dreigeschossigen „Hochregal“ verbindet. Vom Zwischenbau hat man über die zahlreichen Öffnungen der rekonstruierten Nordfassade Einblick in alle drei Altbaugeschosse, die sich mit Fenstern und Lesebalkonen zum Hauptraum hin öffnen. Durch das ansteigende Profil des Zwischenbaus entsteht ein Konvektionsraum, der die natürliche Durchlüftung der Bibliothek erlaubt. Von außen bildet der Zwischenbau eine deutlich wahrnehmbare Skulptur, die die Verbindung zwischen dem alten und dem neuen Gebäude inszeniert. Ihre leicht verfremdete Backsteinhaut greift die Materialsprache der bestehenden Industriearchitektur auf.

© Annette Kisling
© Annette Kisling

Aufgabe

  • Neubau eines Dienstgebäudes mit öffentlichem Hörsaal, Bibliothek und Restaurant

Bauherr

  • Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 41.000 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 1998, 1. Preis
  • 2002 — 2005