© Jan Bitter

Currently the world's largest residential building in modular timber construction “Woodie” offers micro-appartments for 371 students. The building is part of a new residential district in the Wilhelmsburg area of Hamburg, which builds on the experimental character of the 2013 International Building Exhibition and embodies the principles of Universal Design: sustainable, simple and inclusive.

Alternating bays and projections articulate this long building so that it fits in with the smaller scale of its surroundings. Its form also continues the rhythm of the neighbouring State Ministry of Urban Development and Housing along a busy route for cyclists and pedestrians.

The purpose and the functional layout of the student hall of residence are clearly expressed on its exterior. The ground floor structure and the three service cores are in conventional reinforced concrete construction with an additional outer shell of exposed concrete. Simply put, the ground floor structure is a kind of concrete table, on which the 371 residential modules are stacked for five or six floors. Below the cantilevered tabletop at the cores, there are spaces for communal use and gastronomy, which have full-height glazing. The open-air ground floor space between the cores not only makes the building permeable within the city's built fabric, but also provides covered parking for some four hundred bicycles.

The apartments each have 20 m² floor area and are completely prefabricated from solid wood, including their fixtures. With the exception of the natural rubber floor covering, the wood has been left visible on every surface. This contributes to a comfortable and healthy indoor climate for the residents. The rear-ventilated facade cladding is made of greyed larch wood in prefabricated panels.

The exemptions granted in the fire protection certificate (for producing the load-bearing walls, ceilings and facades in wood) set a precedent in Hamburg that opened the way for a change in the state's building regulations: since November 2016 the city has allowed buildings of up to 22 metres in height to be built of timber.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© PRIMUS developments GmbH/Senectus GmbH; Photo: Götz Wrage
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

brief

  • Modular student accommodation with coworking spaces and café

client

  • Dritte PRIMUS Projekt GmbH ein Joint-Venture von PRIMUS und Senectus

data

  • gross floor area: 13.510 m²
  • competition: 2014, 1st prize
  • 2016 — 2017

© Jan Bitter

Woodie ist das (derzeit weltweit) größte Wohnbauprojekt in Holz-Modulbauweise und bietet Microappartments für 371 Studierende. Als Teil eines neuen Wohnquartiers in Hamburg-Wilhelmsburg knüpft es an den experimentellen Charakter der IBA 2013 an, und verschreibt sich den Grundsätzen des Universal Designs: nachhaltig, einfach, inklusiv.

Mit seiner kammartigen Struktur nimmt der Neubau Bezug auf den kleinteiligeren Maßstab seiner Umgebung und schreibt damit die städtebauliche Figur der benachbarten Behörde für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen entlang einer vielgenutzten Fußweg- und Fahrradverbindung fort.

Nutzung, Funktionsverteilung sowie Konstruktionsprinzipien sind von außen deutlich ablesbar. Das Erdgeschoss und die drei Erschließungskerne sind in konventioneller Stahlbetonbauweise mit einer zweiten Schale aus Sichtbetonfertigteilen ausgeführt. Das EG bildet eine Art Betontisch aus, welcher im Bereich der kürzeren Querriegel auskragt; unterhalb der Auskragung befinden sich vollverglaste Räume für Gemeinschaftsnutzungen und Gastronomie. Auf dem Betontisch stapeln die 371 Wohnmodule sich zu fünf bzw. sechs Obergeschossen. Das Luftgeschoss zwischen den Kernen bietet Raum für 400 überdachte Fahrradstellplätze und öffnet den Blick zur Rückseite des Grundstücks.

Die Farbigkeit wird bestimmt durch die beiden wesentlichen Konstruktionsmaterialien: Sichtbeton und Holz. Alle darüber hinaus verwendeten Materialien und Komponenten (Bodenbelag, Steckdosen, Fensterprofile sowie im Außenbereich Verblechungen) sind anthrazitfarben dagegen abgesetzt.

Die 20 m² großen Apartments wurden inklusive ihrer Einbauten komplett aus Brettschichtholz (Fichte) vorgefertigt. Mit Ausnahme des Bodens aus Naturkautschuk sind alle Oberflächen holzsichtig belassen worden. Sie schaffen ein angenehmes und gesundes Raumklima. Die hinterlüftete elementierte Vorhangfassade aus vorvergrauter Lärche wurde ebenfalls vorgefertigt, ihre Unterkonstruktion sowie sämtliche Wärme- und Schall-Dämmschichten rundum bereits an den Modulen vormontiert.

Mit den im Brandschutznachweis genehmigten Abweichungen für die Ausbildung der tragenden Wände und Decken in Holz wurde in Hamburg ein Präzedenzfall geschaffen, der eine Änderung in der Landesbauordnung auf den Weg gebracht hat. So ist Hamburg seither das zweite Bundesland, in dem Gebäude bis zu 22 Metern Höhe / Gebäudeklasse 5 in Holzbauweise errichtet werden dürfen.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© PRIMUS developments GmbH/Senectus GmbH; Photo: Götz Wrage
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

Aufgabe

  • Modulares Wohnhaus für Studierende mit Co-Working-Spaces und Café

Bauherr

  • Dritte PRIMUS Projekt GmbH ein Joint-Venture von PRIMUS und Senectus

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 13.510 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2014, 1. Preis
  • 2016 — 2017