This multifunctional high-rise building offers sustainability through both design and technology. Its slim footprint, the construction method and the concept behind its building services all give the building sufficient flexibility for it to accommodate a wide range of different uses.

This adaptability is primarily due to the load-bearing exterior envelope, which keeps the floor spaces on every level free of interruption from walls and columns, apart from the vertical services shafts. The relatively shallow depth of the building results in floor plans that are equally suitable for residential apartments or for use as single or multiple office units. The adjacent plinth building accommodates a hotel and restaurant. A glass-roofed foyer connects the plinth building to the high-rise and serves as a lobby for the hotel as well as the apartment tower. An express lift gives access to a skybar located on the 35th floor.

The façade combines measures that offer thermal, solar, noise and wind protection with a hybrid ventilation concept that is ideally suited to the building’s flexibility. Openable, wind-protected panels enable natural ventilation, while mechanical ventilation is provided by decentralised units that are integrated in the structural grid of the envelope. Together with the cladding of coloured glass panels featuring a relief effect, these lend the façade rhythm, depth and texture.

brief

  • Multipurpose high rise suitable for housing, hotel or offices

client

  • UpperNord Tower GmbH & Co. KG (CG-Gruppe)

data

  • gross floor area: 48.900 m²
  • competition: 2008, 1st prize
  • 2011

project team

Ben Hansen

Jonathan Janssens

Denis Kolesnikov

Michaela Kunze

Axel Linde

Nils Lindhorst

Markus Weber

Dieses multifunktionale Hochhaus bietet Nachhaltigkeit – mit und über die Technologie hinaus. Seine schlanke Grundrissform, die Konstruktion und die Konzeption der Gebäudetechnik erlauben es, verschiedene Nutzungen innerhalb des Gebäudes in flexibler Weise miteinander zu verbinden.

Seine Anpassungsfähigkeit ist zunächst eine Folge der tragenden Außenhaut des Gebäudes, mit der die Etagen, bis auf die Vertikalerschließungen, wand- und stützenfrei bleiben können. Die Grundrisse eignen sich aufgrund der relativ geringen Gebäudetiefe gleichermaßen für eine Wohn- oder Büronutzung. In einem dem Turm angegliederten Flachbau ist ein Hotel mit Restaurant untergebracht. Ein glasüberdachtes Foyer verbindet den Flachbau mit dem Hochhaus; hier liegen die Eingänge zum Turm, zum Hotel und Restaurant sowie zu einem Expresslift, welcher Besucher zu einer Skybar im 35. Geschoss bringt.

Die Fassade kombiniert effektiven Wärme- und Sonnenschutz, Schalldämmung und Windsicherheit mit einem der Flexibilität des Gebäudes angemessenen hybriden Lüftungskonzept. Für natürliche Belüftung stehen windgeschützte Öffnungsklappen zur Verfügung, für mechanische Belüftung sind dezentrale Lüftungskästen in das Raster der tragenden Stahlbetonkonstruktion integriert. Diese verleihen zusammen mit der Verkleidung aus reliefartigen, farbigen Glaselementen der Fassade Rhythmus, Tiefe und Textur.

Aufgabe

  • Hochhaus Wohnungen und Sockelbau mit Hotel, Gastronomie und Wellness

Bauherr

  • UpperNord Tower GmbH & Co. KG (CG-Gruppe)

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 48.900 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2008, 1. Platz
  • 2011