© ponnie

The new ConfEx Park, at the heart of Thessaloniki, embodies the city’s ambition to be the region’s major business and tourist destination. It will shape an urban area to host international events while offering local meeting spots for the residents.

The design picks up some major routes that fan out from the adjacent ancient city, and reintroduces them for pedestrians and cyclists: The ‘Culture Path’ links the Exhibition Halls and Congress Centre to the MMCA and the Archaeological and Byzantine Museums. The ‘Mountain Route’ emphasizes the relationship between mountain, sea, University, ConfEx Park and wider city.

These lines naturally split the landscape into three parts: a space for play and temporary installations, the central area with cultural gardens and cafes, and a natural amphitheatre for performance and events. The landscaped areas will provide for a range of planted habitats with a diverse range of native and cultural plants found in the region. Addressing the memory of the historic terrain the park also integrates pavilions of the existing Helexpo site as familiar landmarks. The new Exhibition Halls and the Congress Centre can be recognized by their generously overhanging roofs floating like clouds above this landscape. When the halls are not in use for exhibitions, their foyer pavilions remain open for public use as cultural and social venues.

ConfEx Park has the potential to become a beacon of technical and social sustainability as this central site is being regenerated into a verdant nexus for residents and visitors alike.

© artefactory
© Gustafson Porter + Bowman
© artefactory
© artefactory

brief

  • Exhibition and Business Centre set within an urban Park

client

  • TIF-Helexpo S.A.

data

  • gross floor area: 96.000 m²
  • competition: 2021, 1st Prize
  • 2021 — 2026

project team

Zirui Fu

Fotios Gkrilias

Asya Güney

Sokbom Hong

Yinan Sun

Gregory Then

© ponnie

Der neue ConfEx Park im Herzen von Thessaloniki unterstreicht den Anspruch der Stadt, das führende Geschäfts- und Tourismuszentrum der Region zu werden. Der Park wird ein innerstädtisches Areal schaffen, in dem internationale Großveranstaltungen stattfinden und das zugleich als Treffpunkt für die Bewohner der Stadt dient.

Der Entwurf knüpft an einige wichtige Wege an, die von der angrenzenden Altstadt abgehen, und macht diese für Fußgänger und Radfahrer neu erlebbar: Der " Culture Path " verbindet die Ausstellungshallen und das Kongresszentrum mit dem MMCA und dem Archäologischen und Byzantinischen Museum. Die " Mountain Route " hebt die räumliche Verbindung zwischen Berg, Meer, Universität, ConfEx Park und der übrigen Stadt hervor.

Diese Pfade teilen die Landschaft auf natürliche Weise in drei Bereiche: einen Ort für Spiele und temporäre Installationen, den zentralen Platz mit kulturellen Gärten und Cafés und ein Amphitheater für Aufführungen und Veranstaltungen. Die Landschaftsflächen werden mit einer Vielfalt an Wild- und Kulturpflanzen aus der Region angelegt. Um die Erinnerung an das historische Gelände wachzuhalten, werden auch Pavillons des bestehenden Helexpo-Geländes als vertraute Landmarken in den Park integriert. Die neuen Messehallen und das Kongresszentrum sind an ihren großzügig auskragenden Dächern zu erkennen, die wie Wolken über dieser Landschaft schweben. In den Zeiten, in denen die Hallen nicht für Ausstellungen genutzt werden, stehen ihre Foyerpavillons der Öffentlichkeit als kulturelle und soziale Orte zur Verfügung.

Der ConfEx Park hat das Potenzial, zu einem Modellprojekt für technische und soziale Nachhaltigkeit zu werden, das diesen zentralen Ort für Anwohner und Besucher gleichermaßen in ein begrüntes Zentrum transformiert.

© artefactory
© Gustafson Porter + Bowman
© artefactory
© artefactory

Aufgabe

  • Stadtpark mit Ausstellungshallen und Geschäftszentrum

Bauherr

  • TIF-Helexpo S.A.

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 96.000 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2021
  • 2021 — 2026

Projektteam

Zirui Fu

Fotios Gkrilias

Asya Güney

Sokbom Hong

Yinan Sun

Gregory Then