© Hélène Binet

L House is the first of our built projects where colour was applied as an actual building material. A conventional Victorian terraced house was converted to contain two floors of office space and a maisonette above. Through this transformation, the cellular spaces of the original house were stripped away to such a degree that on the top floor only the outer walls remained.

Instead of walls, a series of large boxes – either coloured or of timber – were placed to modulate and redefine the original spaces. These boxes also serve to store the paraphernalia of everyday life.

Ascending from each storey to the next, the frequency of these volumes and intensity of their colour increases, such that the uppermost room appears to be made entirely of colour. Simultaneously enclosing and releasing the space, the colour creates an ambiguity between visual and physical perception, which seems to dematerialise all physical enclosure.

With its orientation to the sky, the top room appears to be almost entirely in the open so that the domestic setting seems to assume the character of a garden.

© Michel Claus
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Katsuhisa Kida

brief

  • Conversion of a Victorian House

data

  • gross floor area: 170 m²
  • 1990 — 1992

project team

© Hélène Binet

Das L House ist das erste realisierte Projekt, in dem wir Farbe als Material verwendet haben. Ein viktorianisches Wohnhaus wird in ein zweigeschossiges Büro und eine darüber liegende Maisonette umgebaut. Dabei wird die zellenhafte Struktur des originalen Gebäudes so weit aufgelöst, dass im obersten Geschoss nur noch die Außenwände übrig bleiben.

Anstelle von Wänden wird im Haus eine Reihe großer, entweder farbiger oder aus Holz gebauter Volumen platziert, die neue Räume formen und alte neu definieren. Diese Volumen fungieren als Behälter für die Dinge des täglichen Bedarfs.

Die Anzahl dieser Körper und die Intensität ihrer Farbigkeit steigt von Geschoss zu Geschoss bis zum obersten Raum an, der ganz aus Farbe zu bestehen scheint. Gleichzeitig begrenzend und befreiend, entsteht durch die Farbe eine Zweideutigkeit zwischen visueller und räumlicher Erfahrung, die jede physische Begrenzung aufzulösen scheint.

Unter dem großen Oberlicht des obersten Raums findet man sich beinahe ganz unter freiem Himmel wieder, so dass die Atmosphäre dieses Wohnraums ein wenig an einen Garten erinnert.

© Michel Claus
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Hélène Binet
© Katsuhisa Kida

Aufgabe

  • Umbau eines viktorianischen Hauses

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 170 m²
  • 1990 — 1992

Projektteam