© Jan Bitter

This modular office structure in the middle of Berlin’s parliamentary district was conceived for the German Bundestag. The building reacts to the complexity of its surroundings with great simplicity: a simple H-shaped plan mediates between the comb-like structure of the neighbouring Marie-Elisabeth Lüders House and the block-like nature of its adjacent urban fabric.

The H formation creates two parts: while the southern one comprises a cour d’honneur through which the semi-public areas including a spacious staircase can be reached, the northern one - protected from the noise of the railway by a glass wall - houses a green courtyard, the main security area as well as most of the 400 offices.

The offices have been designed as prefabricated modules made of solid timber. Window elements, a timber frame with thermal insulation and integrated sun protection as well as a substructure for the façade cladding of coloured glass are built into the module while it is still at the factory. Only the floor slab, the technical rooms on the ground floor and the central atrium will be constructed on site in prefabricated reinforced concrete. The material concept for the interior design follows the constructive logic of this hybrid construction; as the shell materials of timber and concrete will remain visible.

Due to its modular construction method, the building is particularly suitable for deconstruction: individual modules can easily be demounted and then recycled at another location. The approximately 2,500 cubic metres of timber that will be used to construct the 470 modules will grow again over the next 15 years.

© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter
© Jan Bitter

brief

  • Modular timber construction with offices and conference rooms for the German parliament

client

  • Bundesrepublik Deutschland vertreten durch Bundesministerium für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen vertreten durch Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung
    in Kooperation mit Kaufmann Bausysteme GmbH und Primus Developments GmbH

in cooperation with

  • kaufmann bausysteme gmbh mit primus developments gmbh

data

  • gross floor area: 15.900 m2
  • competition: 2020, Zuschlag
  • 2021

project team

Inmitten des Parlamentsviertels entsteht ein modularer Bürobau für den Deutschen Bundestag. Der Baukörper reagiert auf sein komplexes Umfeld mit großer Einfachheit: Ein simpler H-Grundriss vermittelt zwischen der Kammstruktur des Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus und der Blockrandkante des angrenzenden Quartiers.

Durch die H-Formation ergeben sich zwei Gebäudeteile mit unterschiedlichen Qualitäten und ihren Höfen: der südliche Teil bietet sich als Cour d’honneur an, über den man die halböffentlichen Bereiche und die großzügige Treppenanlage erreicht. Der nördliche Teil – durch eine Glaswand gegen den Lärm der Stadtbahn geschützt - beherbergt einen grünen Innenhof, den Hauptsicherheitsbereich und die meisten der 400 Büros.

Alle Büros - von denen jeweils zwei zu einem Doppelbüro zusammenschaltbar sind - wurden als vorgefertigte Massivholzmodule konzipiert. Werkseitig werden Fensterelemente, ein Holzrahmen mit Wärmedämmung und integrierter Sonnenschutzanlage und eine Unterkonstruktion für die Fassadenbekleidung aus farbigem Glas in das Modul eingebaut. Lediglich die Bodenplatte, die Technikräume im Erdgeschoss und das zentrale Atrium werden in Stahlbetonfertigteilbauweise errichtet. Das Materialkonzept der Innenräume folgt der konstruktiven Logik dieser Hybridkonstruktion, die Rohbaumaterialien Holz und Beton bleiben hier sichtbar.

Aufgrund der Modulbauweise ist das Gebäude besonders rückbaufähig. Einzelne Module können leicht an einem anderen Ort wieder aufgebaut oder recycelt werden. Die etwa 5000 m³ Holz, die in den 470 Modulen verbaut sind, werden in den nächsten 15 Jahren nachwachsen.

Aufgabe

  • Modularer Holzbau mit Büros und Konferenzräumen für den Deutschen Bundestag

Bauherr

  • Deutscher Bundestag

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 15.900 m2
  • Wettbewerb: 2020

Projektteam

Sibylle Bornefeld

Luca Di Carlo

Daniel Eichenberg

Natalie Hipp

Erik Levander

Jorge Martinez

Jan Müller

Nelson Schleiff

Hilary Simon

Emma Whitehead