Ever since Sauerbruch Hutton designed and realised the Museum Quarter in Venice-Mestre, they have had a special relationship with this Venetian city. Now the office has been invited to present a comprehensive exhibition in the rooms of Museum M9: draw love build shows a selection of Sauerbruch Hutton's work from the last thirty years.

Through a broad architectural panorama, the exhibition documents the main themes that interweave through the office’s different projects: dealing with the post-industrial city in its more marginal territories, concern for integrated concepts for improved sustainability of the built environment, and the joy of sensual and surprising spaces that enrich the everyday lives of their users.

Models simulate Sauerbruch Hutton’s buildings and spaces at a reduced scale, whilst drawings and images communicate their underlying concepts. Texts, floor plans, sections, photos and films are presented in a digital format. Audio commentaries by Luca Molinari, the M9 Artistic Director, and Livio Karrer, Curator, complement the array on offer. In addition, of course, the M9 museum itself presents visitors with the 1:1 scale lived experience of the very architecture it displays, highly unusual for an exhibit of its kind.

Visitors are invited to let themselves be driven by their sensual curiosity or rational interest and to immerse themselves in the world of Sauerbruch Hutton.

The exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue in Italian and the reading book the turn of the century in English, published by Lars Müller Publishers on the occasion of the exhibition by Louisa Hutton and Matthias Sauerbruch.

iPhone users can download the app from the app store. Alternatively, you can scan the QR code below with your camera.

draw love build l’architettura di sauerbruch hutton
3.9.21–9.1.22
M9 - Museo del '900
via Giovanni Pascoli 11, Venezia Mestre
M9museum.it

Jan Bitter
Jan Bitter
Jan Bitter

Seit Sauerbruch Hutton das Museumsquartier in Venedig-Mestre entworfen und realisiert hat, besteht eine besondere Beziehung mit dieser venezianischen Stadt. Nun wurde das Büro eingeladen, eine umfassende Ausstellung in den Räumen des Museum M9 zu präsentieren: draw love build zeigt eine Auswahl der Arbeiten von Sauerbruch Hutton aus den letzten dreißig Jahren.

In einem breiten architektonischen Panorama dokumentiert die Schau die Hauptthemen, die die vielen unterschiedlichen Projekte miteinander verwebt: Den Umgang mit der post-industriellen Stadt in ihren eher marginalen Territorien, die Sorge um integrierte Konzepte für eine verbesserte Nachhaltigkeit der gebauten Umwelt und die Freude an sinnlichen und überraschenden Räumen, die den Alltag ihrer Nutzer bereichern.

Modelle simulieren Gebäude und Räume in verkleinertem Maßstab; Zeichnungen und Bilder kommunizieren die zu Grunde liegenden Konzepte. Texte, Grundrisse, Schnitte, Fotos und Filme werden in digitaler Form vermittelt. Audio-Kommentare von Luca Molinari, dem künstlerischen Direktor des Museums, und Livio Karrer, Kurator, runden das Angebot ab. Darüber hinaus bietet natürlich das Museum selbst das 1:1 Erlebnis, das üblicherweise Ausstellungen über Architektur versagt bleibt.

Die Besucher:innen werden eingeladen, sich von ihrer sinnlichen Neugier oder ihrem rationalen Interesse treiben zu lassen und sich in die Welt von Sauerbruch Hutton zu vertiefen.

Zur Eröffnung erscheint ein Katalog in italienischer Sprache sowie das Lesebuch the turn of the century auf Englisch, das anlässlich der Ausstellung von Louisa Hutton und Matthias Sauerbruch von Lars Müller Publishers herausgegeben wird.

iPhone-Nutzer können die App aus dem App Store herunterladen oder den unten stehenden QR-Code scannen.

draw love build l’architettura di sauerbruch hutton
3.9.21–6.2.22
M9 - Museo del '900
via Giovanni Pascoli 11, Venezia Mestre
M9museum.it

Jan Bitter