To build a new centre dealing with the subject of building on the site of Schinkel's Bauakademie – in analogy to the original institution – seems a good idea.

The built environment is one of the most important factors affecting the life of every single person – even though only a few actually take an active part in its conception. Thus the new Bauakademie should be an attractive and lively place that talks about all aspects of the production, use, maintenance and improvement of the built environment. It will be a place of research, study and information in the ongoing discussion of how the discipline of architecture (in the broadest sense) can respond appropriately to the challenges of the present.

However, it seems premature to want to fix a detailed programme and function of such an institution now before there is any clarity at all on the basic conditions of its existence. Apart from that, a lively institution will change constantly over the years.

A new building must therefore be able to serve all possible and hitherto unknown formats: We need exhibition halls, stages and event locations, facilities for conferences and seminars, we think of studios, medialabs and workshops and imagine social places like a café or a salon, even retail outlets, offices and perhaps a convenience store. In order to make all this (and more) possible, we need a structure that in principle enables the most diverse spatial formations and gives the „New Bauakademie“ the chance to change and evolve over the years.

For today, it should therefore be noted above all that a future building for a new Bauakademie must serve this and future generations as a well-functioning tool, which – depending on the operating concept – can enable a wide variety of uses.

brief

  • Exhibition space, seminar and conference rooms, coworking spaces, retail, showroom

client

  • Bundesrepublik Deutschland / Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung

data

  • gross floor area: 10.520 m²
  • competition: 2018

project team

  • Mohammed Alhaj Kanama 
  • Tom Geister
  • Marina Stoynova

Am Ort der „Schinkel’schen Bauakademie“ ein neues Zentrum zu errichten, das sich – in Analogie zu der dort ursprünglich beheimateten Institution – um Themen des Bauens bemüht, ist eine sehr unterstützenswerte Idee.

Die gebaute Umwelt betrifft jeden einzelnen Menschen, selbst wenn nur wenige aktiv an ihrer Gestaltung teilnehmen. Die neue Bauakademie sollte daher ein attraktiver und lebendiger Ort sein, der über alle Aspekte der Produktion, der Benutzung, des Unterhalts und der Verbesserung der gebauten Umwelt spricht. Sie wird ein Forschungs-, Studien- und Informationsort sein in der kontinuierlichen Diskussion, wie die Disziplin der Architektur (im weitesten Sinn) in angemessener Weise auf die Herausforderungen der Gegenwart reagieren kann.

Allerdings scheint es verfrüht, die detaillierte Programmatik und Funktionsweise einer solchen Institution fixieren zu wollen, bevor die Randbedingungen seiner Existenz nicht einmal andeutungsweise geklärt sind. Und ohnehin wird eine lebendige Institution sich über die Jahre ständig ändern.

Ein neues Gebäude muss also flexibel genug sein, alle denkbaren (und auch noch nicht bekannte) Formate zu bedienen: Wir brauchen Ausstellungshallen, Bühnen und Veranstaltungslocations, Einrichtungen für Konferenzen und Seminare, wir denken an Studios, Medialabs und Werkstätten und stellen uns soziale Orte wie ein Café oder einen Salon vor, sogar Einzelhandelslokale, Büroräume und vielleicht einen „Späti“. Um all dies (und mehr) zu ermöglichen, brauchen wir eine Struktur, die unterschiedlichste Raumformationen prinzipiell ermöglicht und der „neuen Bauakademie“ die Chance gibt, sich über die Jahre zu ändern und zu entwickeln.

Für den heutigen Zeitpunkt ist deshalb vor allem festzuhalten, dass ein zukünftiges Gebäude – unabhängig von Fragen der Rekonstruktion – dieser und zukünftigen Generationen als ein gut funktionierendes Werkzeug dienen muss, das je nach Betriebskonzept unterschiedlichste Bespielungen ermöglichen kann.

Aufgabe

  • Ausstellungsbereich, Seminar- und Konferenzräume, Coworking, Shops, Showroom

Bauherr

  • Bundesrepublik Deutschland / Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung

Daten

  • Bruttogeschossfläche: 10.520 m²
  • Wettbewerb: 2018

Projektteam

  • Mohammed Alhaj Kanama 
  • Tom Geister
  • Marina Stoynova